sub_menu product2 submenu2 naviBg naviBg naviBg smily smily naviBg
View other whiteners by Philips Dental (10 items total)

Zoom Whitening System

About This Brand »Visit the Philips Dental Brand Page

Product ratings (633 reviews)

Rated: 3.3 out of 5
Agreeability:
Rated: 2.7 out of 5
     
Affordability:
Rated: 2.8 out of 5
     

64% of reviewers recommend

Write your own review
IN-OFFICE
Light Activated System
32% Hydrogen Peroxide
Average Price: $315
Zoom Whitening System image

The Zoom Teeth Whitening System by Discus Dental Inc (recently acquired by Philips) is one of the most popular teeth whitening systems available on the market today. In fact, it is the most widely used light activated system by dentists worldwide. The product comes in an all-inclusive pack. This means that the dentist is provided with all the necessary materials required for professional tooth bleaching in a single ready to use kit. The product includes the tooth whitener, the bleaching light and a number of disposable and single use items to be used on the patient while performing Zoom! Whitening treatments.

What type of tooth whitener is used with the Zoom Teeth Whitening System?

The Zoom! Teeth Whitening System uses a unique hydrogen peroxide based whitening gel. The produc has two different components, a 32% hydrogen peroxide gel and an activator. The two components have to be mixed together in the right proportion to form a working gel with a 25% concentration of hydrogen peroxide, with a pH level between 7.5 and 8.5.

Does the Zoom Teeth Whitening System require a bleaching light?

As a part of the procedure, the Zoom! Teeth Whitening System requires the use of a mercury metal halide light for bleaching. According to Discus Dental Inc, the wavelength of the light emitted from its units is in the range of 350-400 nm. The light is violet in color. The manufacturer claims that the mercury metal halide light with this wavelength activates the Zoom Whitening System, speeding up the bleaching process and enhances its performance.

The light unit in the Zoom! System comes with a built-in infrared filter. The filter helps in minimizing the amount of heat generated at the surface of the teeth from the light during the bleaching process by filtering the emissions. The Zoom! Teeth Whitening System is capable of whitening both the top and bottom teeth simultaneously with a strategically placed light.

Discus Dental developed a newer bleaching lamp in 2007, called the Zoom Advanced Power Lamp. It’s advertised to dentists as a more powerful tool - whitening teeth by as much as 2 shades more than the previous Zoom lamp product. Clinical studies conducted by The Dental Advisor in November of 07 seem to confirm this lamp’s claims - with results showing whitening improvement in the 1.9 range over the previous protocol.

Does the Zoom bleaching light produce a heating effect on the teeth being whitened?

The existing Zoom protocol and lamp have been used on the market for a long time. While the majority of patients report no heating effect during the bleaching treatment, some patients have experienced lip burns or tooth dehydration as illustrated in the user comments below. The new Advanced Power Light, however, has been shown to cause less sensitivity in sensitivity-prone or almost-sensitivity prone patients.

How much does the Zoom! bleaching light cost?

The exact price of the Zoom bleaching light is difficult to predict, but your dentist might have paid in excess of about $1,500 USD for the original lamp. The newer Advanced Power Lamp can run in the $1900 - $2000 range. These prices will help you estimate what you’ll have to pay for your treatment.

How long does it take your dentist to perform a Zoom Chairside Teeth Whitening System treatment?

The Zoom! Teeth Whitening treatments usually take about 90 minutes for the entire procedure. The treatment process is divided in three individual applications of the Zoom! Teeth Whitening System. Each application is of approximately 20 minutes. The patient’s teeth are exposed to the Zoom! Teeth Whitening System for a total of 60 minutes. The pre and post treatment procedures account for the remaining 30 minutes.

Does the Zoom! Teeth whitening system make use of at-home teeth whitening treatments?

Yes. The patients are provided with an additional whitener (a tray-based teeth whitening product) after the completion of the Zoom! Teeth Whitening treatment. The patients are also given instructions on using the product so that they can continue with the bleaching at home.

What are the individual steps of the Zoom Chairside teeth whitening system?

The Zoom! Teeth Whitening System has several steps. First, the doctor evaluates the patient’s pre-whitening tooth shade. The dentist then isolates the teeth that need to be whitened with the use of a dental dam. The patient is protected with a bib. The dentist then applies the hydrogen peroxide whitening gel on the surface of the teeth. After the application of the whitening gel, the activating light is used on the teeth for activating the whitening gel. The tooth whitener is then left for about 20 minutes. The procedure is repeated two more times, with each application lasting for 20 minutes. After the procedure is over, the teeth are washed thoroughly and the whitener is removed completely from the surface. The dentist then applies 1.1% neutral sodium fluoride gel on the teeth surface to reduce or prevent any sensitivity to hot and cold items. Finally, the patient is provided with an at-home tooth whitening system along with instructions for following up.

Should you choose the Zoom Chairside Teeth Whitening System?

The answer to this question depends entirely on your dentist. The dentist can guide you properly after examining your teeth and then suggest the most appropriate product. If you’re interested in teeth whitening with the new Advanced Power Lamp, you may have to ask which whitening lamp the dentist will be using - some dentists will still be utilizing the original Zoom lamp. In general, the Zoom! Teeth Whitening System is a very good product manufactured by a reputed company. The Zoom! Teeth Whitening System gives teeth whitening results that are comparable to other similar laser whitening products.

Note: Zoom has now released a third generation system called "Zoom 3". Since there seems to be many iterations of this system, and consumers do not know which is which, user reviews below may be for any one of the systems Philips has produced.

 
Rog, newton ma
Apr 30 '14
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Just had procedure. It was painful and now that it is over it is even more painful. I would not have done this if I had known how painful it would be. The marketing materials and the dentist somehow "forgot" to mention that.

Not Recommended by rog

    1 of 1 found this helpful
Add Reply
Staken02, MA
Oct 04 '13
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $350.00

Just had it done today, and I must say my teeth are about 4 shade whiter, I couldn't be more pleased with the results. They are WHITE. :)
I quit smoking about 8 years ago, and wanted white teeth for many years, I'm glad I have a health spending account. 350.00 was the cost.
That being said my gums are sore and my teeth are sooo sensitive, I applied the gel they give to take home but it does not seem to help. But I have always been very sensitive to many things anyway. However I will use my prescription tooth paste and hope that helps.

Recommended by Staken02

    1 of 2 found this helpful
Add Reply
Blesslady, stockton
Oct 03 '13
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $150.00

I had zoom done on 9/27/13. No I was not told to use any special toothpaste prior to the procedure, nor that I was going to have pain later.But the product did make a big differernce, but yeah sensitivity oh yeah. Took a vicodin 10 not 5, did not really help.most of my problems is my swelling gums, that is what's bothering me. Instructions in my kit don"t tell you how how to keep the Relief ACP jel on..but that even is sensitive to my teeth better without it, what can you do for sore gums top of mouth really hurts to brush teeth.

Not Recommended by Blesslady

    1 of 1 found this helpful
Add Reply
Mike Calia, Queens, New York
Jul 09 '13
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $350.00

I have tried all the whitening products.. OTC at CVS, RiteAide, Walgreens, etc.. and at the dentist. I'vr had sensitivity with most of the products. Zingers and overall pain in my teeth. I feel like I lucked out because I moved and my new dentist was very personable, had crazy flat screens everywhere (I felt like I wanted to hang out and watch TV). I told the Dr everytime I whiten I get pain. I also smoke cigarettes, drink coffe, red wine, soda.. all the bad stuff so my teeth never stay white. anyway he tells me he has the new Zoom, and ranted an raving about it. all i remember is he said it no longer UV, its LED, and no more sensitivity and better results. When to my shook, after only 3 sessions, my teeth where shining white and not one zing! It was great because I was distrated by the TV instead of someone getting drilled next door and crying. Great experience and I think Philips now owns Zoom which is a good company.

Recommended by Mike Calia

    4 of 4 found this helpful
Add Reply
Anonymous, Troy, OH
Jun 29 '13
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $299.00

I had Zoom whitening completed at the dentist about 4 days ago. I didn't have the pain that it seems that most other people have but I also have a high pain tolerance. My teeth were a bit sensitive afterwards but not so bad that I had to take an aspirin. My dentist gave me a prescription toothpaste to use for one week before the procedure so that may be why I don't have any tooth pain. The worst part of the Zoom whitening was the actual procedure - it was very difficult to get through the 4 15 minutes sessions with your mouth opened in an unnatural manner. It wasn't painful - just annoying.

I have some gray spots on my two front top teeth that I didn't have before the Zoom whitening. They appeared immediately after the procedure and I don't like them. I have been doing some research and so far people who have also experienced this that it will disappear. I'm really hoping it does disappear.

My teeth are definitely whiter for the most part - besides the gray spots that will hopefully go away. However, they are still a little yellow near the gum line. Overall, they are better than they were before - again, as long as the gray spots disappear. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Not Recommended by Anonymous

    0 of 1 found this helpful
1 Reply
Misty, La Quinta
Jun 28 '13
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $295.00

I read these reviews and was terrified of getting this done! However, it didn't hurt at all. I went through 4-15 minute sessions and felt fine. I felt quite relaxed and could fall asleep in the chair if I hadn't had interruptions.

With that said....I don't notice a difference at all, and my teeth just had some yellow coloring. I'm hoping it just takes time as I had it done about an hour ago. Otherwise, $295 is wasted.

I can't say I recommend this since my teeth do not seem whiter. However, I wouldn't fear the pain as others had described.

Not Recommended by Misty

    2 of 3 found this helpful
1 Reply
Anonymous
Dec 18 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $250.00

I've only just had the procedure, and yes, my teeth are whiter, but the sensitivity is acute. I have a pretty high tolerance for pain, but it was nearly unbearable after the second of four sessions. The colour of teeth weren't bad before--thought I would have them "freshened up" for the holidays. Had no idea that I would be in agony afterward, with shooting pain and zingers. Only a masochist would do this willingly.

    4 of 4 found this helpful
1 Reply
Anonymous, USA, Idaho
Dec 18 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $300.00

It never occurred to me that my dentist would knowingly recommend such a painful procedure. I had decently white teeth to start with but decided I needed them to be even whiter. Three hours later I have realized it was a HUGE MISTAKE! Zingers? What a crock! This is debilitating and I have a busy week ahead of me. If it doesn't subside, the pain will keep me home from work tomorrow. NOT WORTH IT! I think my teeth are slightly whiter, but I don't know for sure as I cannot open my mouth for any length of time...the air makes the pain and ZINGERS worse. Also, no one at the dentist office mentioned anything about a "clear diet" for a couple of days. It is almost Christmas and I hate the idea of such a diet. The dentist has called in some Vicodin, and I have taken 800 mg of Ibuprofen. I may be trading horrid tooth pain for a bleeding stomach, but I am desperate at this point so will deal with that later.
Don't have this procedure unless you like torture-level pain. I am not kidding, and I usually have a high level of pain tolerance.
The dentist also did not advise me to use a special toothpaste. I don't know if this would have helped, but wish I had known anyway. I cannot imagine brushing my teeth at all right now, and since I can't eat (also painful), I guess it is not an issue.
I do think the dental assistant did the procedure skillfully, but the nature of this treatment causes pain regardless.
Bottom line, not a good deal. Avoid it at all costs.

Not Recommended by anonymous

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Nisha Brown, Chicago, Il
Dec 09 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Yes I received the zoom whitening treatment· I was very amazed with the results· My teeth are so pretty and white! I did feel some discomfort by the 3rd session. I did tell my dentisnt that i was experiencing some minor aching/sensitivity. She did tell me that she had turned it up a notch, she told me that she would adjust the intensity. I continued with the 4th session. I did have some minor pains from 12noon to 6:00pm. I did take some over the counter pain killers.
My dentist did tell me that the next 7 days are very important. My dentist did go over somethings with me, as far as my eating and drinking habits. You will have to make some adjustments. For me my diet has changed. I 'm try to watch, and beaware of what i'm eating. I no longer drink soda everyday. I never was a coffee drinker, but if i was, that would no longer be part of my habit. I now eat spaghetti with the sauce, once every 6 weeks or so. Any food that has any type of color or food dye i have tried to eliminate. I no longer drink lemonade. You will have to make adjustments to your eating habits. I have had my zoom done early October 2012 it's now Decemeber 2012 and my teeth are still looking amazing. Not to mention that i'm brushing and flossing after every meal. I 'm proud of myself for following through. I want to continue to keep my amazing results so I must keep up my oral hygiene

    1 of 2 found this helpful
Add Reply
Ann, PA
Nov 22 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Very happy with the results. My teeth are now actually WHITE. Minimal discomfort and I have sensitive teeth. I used the sensitive toothpaste for 2 weeks prior and now during the at home follow-up whitening. My only regret is that I did not do this sooner.

Recommended by Ann

    1 of 2 found this helpful
Add Reply
Anonymous, North Attleboro, MA
Nov 14 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $500.00

A lot of people talk about the pain, but it's not that bad. Brush with Sensodyne for a month before you have this done. Actually, DON'T HAVE THIS DONE. That's the point of this review.... I had two bottom pre-molars that zinged for about 20 hours after the procedure (but not during). The pain wasn't a huge deal, but the zingers definitely do occur randomly, less as time goes on the day you have it done. There was no pain the following day.

I don't have disgustingly dark teeth. I'd call them average. I don't smoke or drink coffee. The procedure resulted in about 2 shades whiter. That alone was not worth the price. After the procedure, my teeth were splotchy (noticeable at close distance) with uneven coloring. I was told this goes away after a week, and it does. So does the ENTIRE whitening effect. My teeth, now a week later, are EXACTLY the same shade they were before the procedure. I feel that Zoom is a borderline scam.

You are literally paying all this money for about a week of whitening. HIGHLY UNRECOMMENDED.

Not Recommended by Anonymous

    4 of 4 found this helpful
1 Reply
Carson, Montreal
Nov 02 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $400.00

First, I noticed that many people, myself included, post ratings the day they got the treatment. In fairness, the effectiveness may deteriorate and the whiteness may fade.

I had my Zoom whitening this afternoon. The procedure was a bit uncomfortable but I had high hopes to whiten my slightly coffee stained teeth. During the first session I felt heat on my front teeth. Near the end of the second fifteen minute session I got a few 'zingers' on a few front teeth. I was worried that I wasn't going to be able to handle the third session. The dentist applied some sensitivity reducing gel and I went for the third session. I felt some serious zingers but I was committed to finishing the last fifteen minute session. Overall, yes, it was uncomfortable. The tray caused some pain, the heat was considerable, and the zingers are intense.

My teeth got seven shades whiter. It is noticeable and looks and feels good. I hope the effect stays and the sensitivity goes away.

I paid $400, which seems to be about average, and I think it was worth it. If you do it when you're young and take care of your teeth then the cost is worth it.

Recommended by Carson

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Jennifer, CT
Nov 01 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $395.00

This worked wonders. During the third 15 minute session, I started to feel zaps in my teeth. The pain was bearable. During the last 15 minute session, it got so bad I had the dentist turn the intensity of the light down. I was in pain for about 5 hours afterwards. I had this done late afternoon and this morning I am perfectly fine. Def. worth it!

Recommended by Jennifer

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Michelle ODonoghue, London
Oct 18 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Not worth the money at all! Had it done 8 days ago and whilst they look amazingly white afterwards, a week later they have dulled to a light yellow again! Considering it cost £550 im not impressed! Its also very painful- the first session was fine for me, but the second i started getting very sensitive and shooting pains in the nerves but not too bad, however by the third session it was constant and i couldnt continue with the fourth! Just not worth the money- dont be fooled by the initial result!

Not Recommended by Michelle ODonoghue

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Cat, Florida
Oct 09 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $700.00

Save yourr money, and buy the white strips from the drug store.

Not Recommended by cat

    4 of 6 found this helpful
Add Reply
Jamie, Las Vegas, NV
Oct 04 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $199.00

Complete bust!!! Waste of time and money. Just buy the best white strips you can afford. I went in before getting some fillings and had it done. My teeth were fairly white before but I thought since this was done professionally it would be more notibly white. NOT!! I would not do it again. Store bought white strips will get you better or the same results.

    3 of 4 found this helpful
Add Reply
F, NCal
Sep 27 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $249.00

I had Zoom whitening, my teeth were really discolord, they look so much better than before Zoom, but I am not satisfied with the result in conjunction with how much time and discomfort I experienced to get lack luster results. Zoom whitening is very over rated and I would try it again next year to see if my teeth will get even whiter, it's more affordable than having other dentist office procedures to get a white smile. But if there is something out there that is better for around the same price I am interested! I had some discomfort during Zooming and most of the rest of that day, but then it subsided and I was fine. Then I started to use the trays and the sensitivity was pretty bad on my lower teeth for the first three days, but that other stuff they give you to put on your teeth helped. I used the trays for the whole two weeks but I am not satisfied. I wanted my teeth to glow! They look better than before because they were very discolored but they are not white enough...

Not Recommended by F

    1 of 2 found this helpful
Add Reply
R, Wichita,Ks
Sep 18 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $500.00

I had Zoom done about a year ago. I only experienced slight zingers during the last session and for a few hours afterwards. At first I was very happy with results but by the second week I was back to light yellow. For the price and over all results I wouldn't recommend this procedure.

Not Recommended by R

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
CK, Toronto, ON, Canada
Sep 07 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I just received this treatment this evening. No major pain during the treatment, just some mild, dull nerve pain. I was just quite uncomfortable by the end of the 4th 15min session and happy to remove the tray and finish the treatment.
Afterwards the zingers were unbearable for about 3 hours, I had trouble driving 10 min home from the dentist's office. It's not nearly as intense now, at all and much less frequent. I will however take another extra-strength painkiller before bed just as a precaution.
I'm also concerned about how the home bleaching kit will affect my teeth, since other reviews have said that it makes the pain worse. I don't know if I'll risk the zingers again but will discuss with my dentist (who I do trust greatly and did a great job).
I hope I'll be happy with the results since my teeth are significantly whiter now, but had I known it woudl hurt that much, I likely wouldn't have done it. I will likely use another method next time. However, it seems everyones results are different.
I'll report back if the results change, or if something new comes up that I think will help someone make up ther mind. Good luck taking care of your teeth!

Not Recommended by CK

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Alicia, Vancouver
Sep 05 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $165.00

I had done my ZOOM at noon and first of all the dentist could not match my teeth shade as they already were whiter than the whitest (before) shade and then after 3 sessions (that's all they were offering) my shade did not get any whiter at all even dentist noticed it and she even commented that my teeth were already white... SO WHY DA HELL SHE DID NOT ADVISE ME DUE TO MY EXTREME SENSITIVITY THAT MAYBE I SHOULD NOT DO IT AT ALL ESPECIALLY IF NO RESULTS WERE EXPECTED!!!! And dentist did not even give me the take home tray or anything at all! It's not like I even would have used it, but seems like part of procedure which in my case was left out! Complete rip off and excrutiating pain even with pain killers it doesn't stops! Never had whitening done and it is definitely the last time ever!!!! Would recommend everyone who wants whiter teeth to either get permanent porcelans or just RUN THE OTHER WAY!!!

http://www.enhancedentalcentre.com/ -

Not Recommended by Alicia

    1 of 1 found this helpful
Add Reply
Paul, Smithfield NC
Aug 31 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $399.00

I had my procedure a month ago and I am not recommending this to other people because first, it was extremely painful , second, very expensive then my teeth were only two shades whiter then after 4 days the original color came back . I lost several pounds for not eating any colored food. I was just eating clear food for two weeks but still the yellowish color came back. I was using the home trays my dentist gave me and was told to use it overnight every other day but it is not working. It's not even making it any whiter the worst is that I am getting canker sores all over my mouth for using the trays overnight. So I really regret getting this procedure. I will not try to whiten my teeth again because of my horrible and nightmare experience with Zoom whitening.

Not Recommended by Paul

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Luke, Melbourne, AUS
Aug 31 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $565.00

Hey guys,
Had my procedure yesterday. Glad to read other people experienced the same kind of pain i was in. Those 'zings' were truly horrific - but i do have to say, my smile just looks so nice now (the dentist was very thorough and nice). First time in my life i can smile and laugh and not cover my mouth or look away.
The pain has completely subsided now - less than 24 hours, in fact, it was gone by the time i woke up this morning (18 hours post whitening)
Not sure if the whitening was worth 550 US Dollars, but i'm still happy.
I'd recommend it for those with high pain tolerance and thresh hold!! If you lack these, do NOT get it! For those who can stand a fair amount of pain then go for it :) (the pain feels like the nerves are going crazy and shooting pains quite consistently for hours - took some over the counter panadeine and it helped).
I'm happy with my results! :)

Recommended by Luke

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Fay, United Kingdom
Aug 30 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had the zoom whitening today and despite the pain I experienced, I am extremely happy with the results.
During the first 15 minute session I had a slight shooting pain in some of my lower teeth, it hurt but when I had the second 15 minute session it was throughout my whole mouth, I had to clench my fists to try and take my mind off of it. The third session was as painful and when the dentist asked me if I wanted to continue with the fourth session, at first I was going to say no but had gone through 45 minutes so decided to carry on. I had it done 8 hours ago and am still in a lot of pain, I have taken paracetamol but they aren't doing me many favours. I am very happy though, as they say, no pain no gain. I would recommend this treatment. I am 21 so the younger you are the more sensitive your teeth will be. I also have no fillings etc so the dentist told me after that's why it hurt more.

Recommended by Fay

    1 of 1 found this helpful
Add Reply
Heidi, Salt lake city
Aug 24 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $350.00

No pain during 4 sessions for me and only a couple painful zingers the rest of the day. I'm just not happy with the whitening, only went up 2 shades and my teeth look a little splotchy. Still yellow in some spots around gum line. Not worth the price for me.

Not Recommended by Heidi

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Zach, Bethlehem
Aug 21 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $299.99

Could not help but look through all of these comments on the days leading up to my appointment, and might I say, they certainly got my hopes up. But I suppose I should now pass on my own experience. I had my procedure done this past Tuesday which makes today a day short of a week from my procedure. What many people say is true. During the session you are going to experience pain. If you cannot tolerate it, then it is certainly not for you. Afterwards when the doctor turned the mirror around to show me my new smile I literally was quite overjoyed. My family was even quite happy for my new smile, which was accomplished in hopes for some fantastic senior portraits. After the appointment I was in extreme pain for the following 6 hours, an acute series of pain bursts, but luckily it subsided in time for me to sleep. Two days later I returned for a "final whitening" where I was told I had unexpectedly great results. But then the unspeakable happened. After eating breakfast on the third day I looked into the mirror and smiled. It looked nearly as yellow as it had before! I thought it was a hoax but I have looked in several mirrors and taken many a photo in the past few days, but the return to the mild yellow seems to be permanent. No matter how hard I brush, floss, or otherwise clean my teeth can turn them back. Further research on my part has seemed to turn up with the fact that this process opens oxygen channels within the tooth, and dries the tooth out, combining to create an unrealistically white look directly after the appointment. Upon re-hydration and re-oxygenation, my teeth have returned to the shade the Zoom has truly whitened them too, which, sadly, is not anything worth noting. I can't help but notice, now unfortunately, that the posts of most people in this forum are by those who made their post the day of or the day after their procedure. I cannot stress enough that you cannot truly access this procedure's effectiveness until 2-3 weeks afterward. Therefore, I extremely caution those who are considering this method to search elsewhere. Thanks!

Not Recommended by Zach

    1 of 1 found this helpful
1 Reply
Cassie Algee, Port Charolette Florida
Aug 16 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I Had this procedure done today and had quite an experience. My mother is a dentist so it was at no cost. I had no problem at the beginning of the treatment, during the 3rd session I had awoken from the zingers and could hardly stand the pain of the fourth session. Also the mouth piece was quite uncomfortable. I really enjoy the results I recieved but don't enjoy the pain. It isnt extreme, but having sensitive teeth it is uncomfortable, it had been 7 hours and I am still not feeling back to normal. This is a review from a 16 year old so remember my mouth may be different than yours, but I haven't even had a cavity so I have pretty healthy teeth.

Not Recommended by Cassie Algee

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Heather, Philly
Aug 16 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $300.00

I just had this done yesterday. My teeth were so yellow they matched my blonde hair. I got this done in philadelphia for 300$ and I'm so happy with it.
I'm not sure why everyone is saying how much it hurts it didn't hurt me one bit. I sat through all four sessions and didn't feel anything at all. I read a lot of reviews of people saying how awful it was but they must be crazy.
I didn't feel anything until afterwards I got a sharp tooth pain but they went away during the day and they lasted for like 2 seconds literally. It was absolutely worth it.

Recommended by Heather

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Nacole, los angeles
Aug 16 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $99.00

I experienced no pain at all and I got the whitening after my teeth was cleaned. I barely noticed a difference in my teeth. I had my teeth whitening before with a at home kit I bought from a dental office and got way better results. I would have been really pissed if I paid a higher price.

Not Recommended by Nacole

    1 of 1 found this helpful
Add Reply
Anonymous, Scotland
Aug 14 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $250.00

After doing some more research into zoom whitening I was almost ready to cancel my appointment today. However, I had tooth whitening a few years ago with bright smile and was ok during and after, recalled some minor discomfort. I Have to say I am very happy now post trEatment with zoom although a bit sensitive at the moment. The treatment was fine, felt a little claustrophobic with the set up but no sensitivity or pain at all. The dentist was surprised, both she and the nurse had experienced tolerable discomfort with their treatments. I received four applications, took a hour for that in total and a few mins set up time. After I told the dentist of my concerns on reading reviews she was reassuring and took lots of care applying protection and treatment. The colour is amazing, I can't believe how effective this has been, I feel like I have nice teeth for the first time ever! They are quite achy now, sensitive to cold but ibuprofen has helped. The gum between my front two teeth is a little irritated, but otherwise I would recommend and would suggest buying sensitive teeth toothpaste for post procedure and some pale coloured food for first day. The relief gel mostly squished out the tube on opening so I didn't really get any to try out in the teeth mould. Received a top up treatment in a tube although can't imagine I will use anytime soon teeth so light now. If you are concerned about going for this you could ask for divided doses of the treatment, it would be mire expensive for set up time etc but my dentist was happy to offer this. Best of luck!

Recommended by Anonymous

    0 of 1 found this helpful
Add Reply
Renee, Wichita, Kansas
Aug 10 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had the Zoom whitening done by my dentist yesterday morning. I experienced NO pain whatsoever. I can't believe what a difference it made. I never smiled because of the way my teeth looked. Sure wish I would have done this years ago. I am anxious to use the at-home maintenance kit for even better results. I would HIGHLY recommend this procedure.

Recommended by Renee

    0 of 1 found this helpful
Add Reply
TeethRsoBrightUgottaWearS, Southern California
Aug 09 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Astonished by how white my teeth are even though I had to stop after the second 15 minute session due to pain in my lower front teeth. I felt one little zinger towards the end of that session and was going to continue, but as soon as the new dose of whitening gel was applied, the shooting pains started in earnest. I put on the gel that's supposed to relieve the pain while I was still at the dentist's office but it didn't really do much to help. Took two tramadol when I got home and that did the job. The only time I've had a zinger since is when I ate a chunk of chocolate. Ouch! The procedure is time consuming and even without the zingers, it's uncomfortable, but the results are amazing.

    1 of 1 found this helpful
Add Reply
Richard, Winnipeg, MB
Aug 08 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $400.00

I had Zoom Whitening performed this morning. My teeth are noticably whiter; however, I found the procedure to be very uncomfortable. The treatment consisted of four 15 minute consecutive sessions. The first session was painless. During the second, I began to experience 'zingers' in a lower front tooth. By the end of the third session(45 minutes total), the discomfort was throughout my entire mouth and I decided not to continue with the fourth session. Although my teeth have certainly lightened, the colour at the gum line is lighter than the rest of the tooth. The hygenist explained that this would improve with continued whitening at home. Overall, I would say that Zoom was effective; however, very painful. I would recommend at-home bleaching trays as an alternative. I would not use Zoom again.

Recommended by Richard

    1 of 1 found this helpful
2 Replies
Karen, TN
Aug 01 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $528.00

My 16 year old son had the Zoom Whitening procedure and said the last session hurt really bad! He was sore after the procedure and took an Advil. He finished the treatment at 1P and was at football practice at 6P with mouth piece and said it didn't hurt anymore. Wish I had researched cost before making the appointment -- according to this website, we way over paid!! :( I paid $528 which was $100 off their advertised price so I thought I was getting a deal!!!!

He is pleased with the outcome. He had yellow/brown striping on his teeth; the dentist said it was because of fluoride in the water in the city we lived? We thought it was from a large amount of antibiotics as a baby because of constant ear infections.

You can purchase the gel refills through Amazon.com - Philips Zoom Day White ACP 14% Hydrogen Peroxide (Replaces 38%) 3-pack Tooth Whitening Gel + Bonus Sensitivity Relief Gel – Daywhite - $19.99. Have not tried yet, but it looks the same as what the dentist gave us.

Recommended by Karen

    Was this review helpful?
1 Reply
Anonymous, London
Jul 31 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

After reading all of the reviews I was dreading my procedure yesterday but am relieved to say it was fine. My teeth are sensitive but I felt only minimal discomfort right at the end of the procedure, in fact it was quite relaxing! A few tips:
-only use a top quality dentist. This will probably mean paying a little more
-brush with sensitive fluoride toothpaste and a soft bristle brush for a week in advance
-dose up with ibuprofen and paracetamol beforehand
-book an appointment in the late afternoon so you can sleep through any discomfort
-continue to take recommended painkiller dose until bedtime
By the time you wake up the next day you should be pretty much back to normal with a beautiful gleaming smile to be proud of!

Recommended by Anonymous

    1 of 1 found this helpful
Add Reply
Nancy, Illinois
Jul 30 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $99.00

Hubby and I were Zoomed on same day. We got a great price of $99 thru Groupon. Dentist was very careful and thorough to mention the possible sensitivity during the procedure. I was pretty nervous as my teeth are sensitive already. They did a great job protecting teeth with recessed gums. I felt no discomfort during the 3-15min. sessions. Got a few zingers in 3 teeth after but they give a sensitivity gel to put on at home if needed. My major disappointment is that my teeth improved only 5 shades whiter. Nobody noticed the difference when I smiled. If I had paid the full price of $600 for both of us I would have really been angry. Not worth the money. Now I am still looking for another whitening product.My opinion....tolerable procedure, not worth the money, minimal whitening.

Not Recommended by Nancy

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Gina, San Francisco, California
Jul 27 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $300.00

I had the Zoom Whitening done twice.
The first time was back in 2009 and then 2011.
The first time around I had a lot of "zinger" pain and was in discomfort until the next morning. -I Recommend you do the Zoom Whitening later in the day, from my experience the pain goes away by the next morning.
The second time around (2011) I just did it for a little bit of maintenance and I only experienced the "zinger" pain minimally.
I started using Sensodyne tooth paste after the first Zoom Whitening so I think that helped a lot.
But the Nite White tray whitening is fantastic to maintain the white.
I also try to stay away from coffee, wine, tomatos, ect.
I am very pleased! Pain is beauty, and beauty is pain!

Recommended by Gina

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Tayllor, Atlanta, GA
Jul 26 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $100.00

Went to the dentist this morning at 8 am this morning, it's now 7:54 pm and I'm STILL in so much pain. I wish I had read the reviews before I went. My teeth are pretty white except for one of my front teeth which was gradually getting yellower, I think I hit it really hard when I was young. Anyways, I only made it through three phases. The first two phases were fine, it was after the third phase that I could bear no more. My dentist told me any sensitivity would be gone by the afternoon, or tonight, and if not definitely by the time I wake up tomorrow. The pain is excruciating, it feels like the nerves in my teeth are delivering electric shocks. I would not wish this pain on even my worst enemy. I spent the afternoon screaming and crying on my couch in pain. I have barely even eaten today because the one time I did, it caused my sensitivity to go into a frenzy. I took an advil earlier, I'm going to pop two more now, get into bed and pray I have no pain in the morning. I truly think this treatment depends on your sensitivity, but I wouldn't recommend it to anymore. Pain is not worth it.

    0 of 1 found this helpful
Add Reply
Clary, Florida
Jul 25 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had the ZOOM treatment today! It took about 2 hours. I purchased it through a groupon so I got a great deal. The hygienist sat with me the entire time and my teeth are much whiter! I got one or two zingers during the treatment. This evening my teeth have been very sensitive. I've had zingers on and off and have been taking some medicine to control the discomfort. It's no big deal!!! Anyone who has a whitening procedure and doesn't expect some discomfort is not being realistic. I'm hoping the zingers will be gone by tomorrow. :). Pleased with the results and will recommend to all my friends :)

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Glenn, Vitek
Jul 23 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $150.00

Uneven whitening....going back to strips and gels

Not Recommended by Glenn

    1 of 1 found this helpful
Add Reply
Jennie Cotton, Uk
Jul 23 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Absolute torture for zero results!!!! I have just received zoom treatment the procedure was lengthy and uncomfortable. I asked for really white teeth but got ignored my teeth were already quite white. Towards end of third session I received terrible pain and have been In agony since. the pain is excruciating and unbearable!!!! I would not recommend this to anyone it's ridiculously overpriced and terrible painful!! Really upset!!

Not Recommended by Jennie cotton

    Was this review helpful?
1 Reply
Karen, Whittier, CA
Jul 22 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $300.00

I was very close to cancelling my appointment after having read all these bad reviews. I'm super glad I didn't! Of course, I'm sure everyone feels a little discomfort here and there, beauty does have its price, people! I underwent 4 sessions since my teeth were very yellow due to neglect and lots of coffee drinking. I didn't expect them to be this white! They look amazing..Everyone in my family complimented on my smile. I didn't feel the zingers until the last 4 minutes of the session and experience about 30 more after leaving my dentist's office. After 2 800mg Ibuprofens and a good night's sleep, I have not experienced anymore zingers. I only brushed my teeth very lightly yesterday since I felt zingers when water touched my gums. They are still a little sensitive still but nothing unbearable. If you are planning on doing this, I strongly recommend it. All the bad reviews are seriously exaggerated.

Recommended by Karen

    Was this review helpful?
1 Reply
Anonymous, AL
Jul 20 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $300.00

My complaint is not in the whitening @ the Dentist office. Although I did think my teeth would be whiter, I was still happy.
But, no one mentioned my complaint w/Zoom system.
It's the COST of the refill tubes after, I wish I knew where I could get the refill tubes cheaper than $55.00 for 3 itty bitty tubes. I get them @ my dentist office.
Are there generic brands that you buy cheaper than that anywhere than the Zoom system.
And, I like 2 cups of coffee/day & 1 glass of red wine/night, & now I have to very careful not to stain my teeth w/them.

Recommended by Anonymous

    Was this review helpful?
1 Reply
Karine , Copenhagen, Denmark
Jul 20 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $250.00

I just had my teeth whitened and I absolutely love the results!

Although, I almost did not book an appointment after reading all the reviews :-) It was not painful whatsoever, I did not suffer from any zingers and the dentist said that I reached the whitest of shades after only 2X 15 minutes; to be fair, I already had fairly white teeth. The only discomfort was the mouth protector, but totally worth it as it protects against lips burning.

I talked with my dentist beforehand and told her that I was apprehensive, that I read all these reviews, which were not all glorious. She guided me through the procedure and I suggest you do the same with your dentist.

So all in all, beautiful results, painless and quick!

Recommended by Karine

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Hollywood Smile, Portland, Or
Jul 19 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $150.00

I just had Zoom done today and LOVE the results. My teeth were white before but now they are brilliant white. I read these reviews last night and was freaked out because of all the reviews about severe pain. I experienced zingers at the end of the 3rd pass and they definitely were not plesant, however not horrific as many of the reviews expressed.

I have healthy teeth with no cavities and think that a lot of the people who review may not have the healthiest teeth so the procedure is more complicated and painful.

Don't let these reviews scare you if you are going in for the procedure it is WORTH a little discomfort. Be sure to get the after care it has helped me a lot already with sensitivity and occasional zingers.

I think the worst part for me will be 48 hours without coffee haha

Ps Picture was taken today after Zoom

Recommended by Hollywood Smile

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
PrettySmile, Los Angeles, ca
Jul 17 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Would never recommend this to anyone unless you have very stained and very TOuGH teeth!! Most painful procedure I've ever had done (& I've had 2 root canals!) pain was NOT in the back of my mouth where potential cavities could be. Pain was in the gums in front, my lips and the teeth themselves. I had the procedure this morning and have:


1.) Ungodly pain all day (like you should take Vicodin or other major pain killer pain--I haven't, since I am nursing, but oh God if I could!)

2.). White spots and lines left on my teeth. I had pretty white teeth before the procedure with some minor yellowing around the base, but overall pretty bright--now they are discolored and uneven!! Dr said this should clear up..in a few MONTHS! What?! My good-looking teeth that I just wanted to make look a little more polished are now ugly, stained teeth for the next few months??! Seriously, what is the point? I paid for non-uniformity?

3.). Tons of tooth sensitivity. I have seen the word "zinger" used on some of the reviews--great description of it bc it does feel like an electric shock is running through your tooth structure everytime you open your mouth, eat or drink.

Bottom line? DoNT DO IT unless you ABSOLUTELY need to...and before then, look into laser. I hear that is super effective. For Zoom's price, you'd expect it to be more effective and less painful. I could have achieved the same results with strips & not had to go through the cost and expense.

Not Recommended by PrettySmile

    1 of 1 found this helpful
Add Reply
Lee, Thailand
Jul 14 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $150.00

AGONY!!!! SHEER AGONY!!!! I hate this site, why didnt I find it yesterday?

Not Recommended by Lee

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Anonymous
Jul 11 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $350.00

I got the Zoom! tooth whitening procedure done yesterday... and the pain was worse than my jaw surgery pain. It was worse after the procedure, but during was awful too. I sat through the entire thing, 4 sessions and all, and I was MISERABLE to say the least. The pain afterwards, and I'm not exaggerating, felt like someone ripped my teeth out, sawed the nerves off, and dug them out with a spoon. I was crying and SCREAMING afterwards. I talked to the doctor beforehand about my sensitivity and he understood completely. He prescribed me Lortab and another kind of medicine to treat nausea. I took 2 of them as soon as they were filled, which took about 45 minutes (filled with extreme pain), and the nausea medicine. It got me pretty doped up and caused the pain to become bearable. I took one more a few hours afterward and slept like a baby. I woke up feeling great with no sensitivity at all. I was able to eat a huge bowl of Cheerios and a banana, because I didn't eat yesterday from the pain. I recommend that you talk to your dentist beforehand about the pain, and they will do all they can to help. My teeth are 2 shades whiter, and I had white teeth already. It was worth it, but the pain makes it an extreme risk. I don't recommend it to someone who already has white or semi-white teeth. I didn't choose to have this procedure done- my mom made me. I didn't care about it either way but I sure did afterwards. If you do it, just talk to your doctor beforehand.

Not Recommended by Anonymous

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Ed, London
Jul 09 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

The most painful experience in my whole entire life, unbelievable, I managed to last the full session but just about, 10 hours on and still in pain, put 3 different kinds of sensitive toothpaste on, put them in my home guards and wore them, took NSAID's pain a bit less than at first but it really does hurt and it really is an excruciating pain. Stick with the home trays, the pain of the zoom is just not worth it!

Not Recommended by Ed

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Ashley, Copley, OH
Jul 09 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $400.00

I had the Zoom whitening treatment done this past Thursday, July 5th and love the results! My dentist offered 4 - 15 minute sessions but because of sensitivity I was only able to do 3. They told me that the at-home whitening trays/gel that they will give me will definitely lighten up my teeth even more, which is nice to know. My teeth were extremely yellow as I have never done any kind of whitening and recently had my braces taken off after 27 months of wearing them. There is a definite difference from before and after with the color of my teeth.

The process itself wasn't as bad as I was expecting from all the reviews I had read. I did use Sensodyne toothpaste and a fluoride mouthwash for approximately a month before having the procedure done. The dentist had advised to do this and I definitely think it helped/decreased the zingers I experienced. I would recommend using both as long as you can before getting the procedure done, because over time Sensodyne builds up on your teeth to decrease sensitivity.

The hygenist blocked off my gums with a special gel, and then also blocked my lips so they did not get burnt during the procedure. She did an excellent job with this as I did not feel any discomfort on my gums, and would come back in between sessions to check on me and reapply the gel. Once the procedure started, I did not experience any sensitivity in the first 15 minute session - the light just felt a little warm on my teeth. By about 5 minutes into the second session I experienced my first zinger (sharp intense pain deep in my back tooth) but it only lasted about 15 seconds. I did experience about 5 more of these throughout the rest of the second session and the third as well. For me it was mostly on my bottom back teeth, but towards the end I did feel one near my front top teeth as well. The zingers aren't fun, but definitely not painful enough to say that the procedure wasn't worth it.

After I was finished with the three sessions the hygenist took the molds of my teeth to make my at-home whitening trays. After I left the office I did experience zingers here and there for about the next 5 hours. They weren't continuous but would come in spurts. I did take some ibuprofen and by the time I woke up the next morning I didn't have any more zingers and haven't felt any since (procedure was done 4 days ago).

The one downside I have found is that you have to be very careful what you eat for the next several days after the procedure. The dentist told me your teeth are most suseptible to staining about 2-3 days afterwards since the whitening procedure pulls all the moisture out of your teeth. It is a minor inconvenience, but I found it a little tricky to find foods to eat that would not stain in those first couple of days. They also tell you not to drink coffee, pop or red wine; luckily I do not drink any of the three so that was not a problem for me.

Even though there was a little discomfort, I felt the Zoom whitening was well worth the money and I am happy with the result. I also went to a dentist that made me feel comfortable and answered all of my questions. If you are considering Zoom, definitely do your research ahead of time and find a dentist you trust.

Recommended by Ashley

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Jane Zube, Melbourne, Australia
Jul 09 '12
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability
     
Paid $999.99

WARNING !! Stupidly I did the Zoom whitening treatment 4 years ago - excruciating nerve pain - was in tears ... a day later developed blood blisters at the top of the gums in which they told me perhaps some had seeped into my gums causing a slight infection. So four years on I have 2 abscesses develop in my front teeth - the very area effected. My dental specialist says he cannot explain how I developed them ?? Now I know it was the Zoom ... so, so sure!!

Not Recommended by Jane Zube

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
 
 

Write your own review