sub_menu product2 submenu2 naviBg naviBg naviBg smily smily naviBg
View other whiteners by Philips Dental (10 items total)

Zoom Whitening System

About This Brand »Visit the Philips Dental Brand Page

Product ratings (650 reviews)

Rated: 3.3 out of 5
Agreeability:
Rated: 2.6 out of 5
     
Affordability:
Rated: 2.8 out of 5
     

63% of reviewers recommend

Write your own review
IN-OFFICE
Light Activated System
32% Hydrogen Peroxide
Average Price: $321
Zoom Whitening System image

Showing Page 13 of 13
 
LG, New York
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I think that the zoom treatment as vairous effects on different people. For me the discomfort was bearable but I did not get the results that I wanted. It was not worth $750

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
JC Leonard, Kansas City, KS
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

If I had known about this site before I had this done, I would have NEVER done it! My teeth are almost glow-in-the-dark they are so white, which is great, but not worth the cost of the pain. I had no pain during the 3 sessions of 15 minutes a piece. Afterwards though, I was sure something was seriously wrong! I've never had a zinger in my life and never want to again. It's HORRIBLE! It feels like 1,000 volts running through the nerves of your teeth! I can't even speak and am terrified to eat or drink anything. The gel they gave me has brought the pain from a 10 to a 7, but still... I was not warned that excruciating pain was a side effect. If you have sensitive teeth I DO NOT recommend this procedure.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
John, Michigan
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Had the Zoom whitening yesterday afternoon. During the last few minutes of the procedure, my lower teeth started to hurt a bit, but there was only about 4-5 minutes left, so I was able to just rinse it off. The dentist gave me a prescription for Motrin 800, which I didn't really need. Felt the "zingers" for about an hour afteward, every 5-10 minutes, just in the lower part of my teeth which are obviously a lot more sensitive then the top. Later that night, my teeth were just sensitve to the cold air. As of this morning my teeth have very little sensitivity, and my teeth look great! The procedure itself was kind of uncomfortable, but I would definetely recommend this. My dentist told me I probably wouldn't see much of a result just because my teeth weren't very yellow, but since the procedure was free, I decided to do it anyways. Very impressed.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Nicole, NY, NY
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had the ZOOM Whitening about 48 hours ago. I expected to be sensitive afterwards, but didn't realize it would bother me during the procedure. It was most uncomfortable, for me, during the first 15 minutes then subsided a bit. For the rest of the day my teeth were extra sensitive and Advil didn't seem to work that well. The next morning I was fine. As for the result, my teeth were only slightly yellowed to start out with and there seems to be some improvement, but nothing that anyone else can notice. I would therefore recommend this only to those who have very yellow teeth. I still see blotchiness on my teeth, which make them look worse than they did before, but I'm told that will dissipate. In addition, a small bit of my gum was irritated and bled after brushing but that seems to be healing now.
If I had the opportunity to go back in time, I probably wouldn't have bothered, but I still think the convenience and price ($500 is what I paid) for it is great for someone with a lot of staining.
And a note on at-home whitening; I tried the professional brand of Crest whitestrips and they bothered my teeth as well. Tooth sensitivity seems to be something one just can't avoid if they want results.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Hurting, NYC
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had Zoom done 6 days ago. After the procedure, my teeth looked many shades whiter.

My lower lip was burned and swollen. I could not talk about 6 hours post-procedure. I bought vitamin-E gelcaps and applied the cream to the burnt swollen area twice a day. The swelling went down after 2 days and became a layer of dead white skin (which turned yellow from the vitamin-E) It was quite unsightly. I stayed home for 5 days because it looked horrible. Now, on it's 6th day, I can say I my lips are almost back to normal (a little dead skin and redness left).

The gum on top of one of my front tooth was burned, and became red 3 days post-procedure. It is extremely painful to brush. Now, on day 6, it is still red and white and raw. I do not know when this will heal. My dentist have always informed me that I have healthy gums.

Post-procedure, I brushed my teeth 4-5 times a day. I drink some tea on day 3 and 2 glass of wine on day 4. I do not drink coffee. My teeth have returned to their yellowish color, and it hasn't even been a week.

I spent $400 - $400 for pain and embarassment, and teeth that haven't gotten any whiter.

Can anyone recommend something that works well for people with natural yellow and porous teeth? I brush 2-3 times a day, have done take-home tray treatment, Crest White Strips, and now Zoom, and use whitening toothpaste. Nothings longer than a few weeks for me. I have good oral hygene and dont drink coffee or much tea or wine, yet it looks like I haven't brushed my teeth in my whole life.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Hanna, Topeka, KS
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I went into my dentist office yesterday, even after reading horror stories from previous clients of the Zoom. I thought to myself that it couldn't be that bad but my experience has me infuriated and left in paid. First of all my dentist did the job himself though the nurses admitted they had never done it before since their regular Zoom nurse was out on maternity leave. I felt confident my dentist would at least do a good job. At first it seemed tingly but not at all painful. They put a bridge up around my teeth to keep the bleach gel from getting on my gums. during the second round of lasering I felt burning throughout my entire mouth. I assumed this was normal but the longer I sat there the worse the burning was and it just kept spreading, to my gums, to my tongue and to my lips. No one was around and I laid there crying and kicking my legs hoping to get someone's attention. Finally after the 15 minutes went by someone came in and asked if I was okay. I was definately not. She said she didn't want to remove all the gauze inside my mouth but the pain was so bad I pulled it all out myself and rinsed out my mouth. The dentist came in and put vitamin e oil on my lips, gums and every place else that had been bleached white by the gel. They then proceeded to tell me they had to redo the whole thing since I had another 15 minutes to go and at which point I declinded and told them I was leaving. My teeth only have lighter blotches on them but are definately not noticably whiter. The pain from this procedure is enough to drive someone insane. My experience was terrifying to say the least. I'm only 25 years old and am thinking about taking legal action against this office. I'm hoping to at least get a refund of my $500.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Gayle, Los Angeles, CA
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Had zoom procedure performed yesterday. Slight tingling during the procedure, that was it. NO PAIN afterwards. I spoke to the dentist regarding many comments on the internet regarding pain. He felt it was the dentist performing the procedure that caused the pain. Did not cover exposed areas enough, may have zoomed for too long.

My teeth are considerably whiter. I am a smoker so they were quite yellow

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Joanne, CO
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had this done 10 years ago! Best money I have ever spent. My teeth were pretty yellow, with brownish stains between the top front 2 teeth. Afterwards, my teeth were bright white and people have always asked how I got such beautiful white teeth! :) So glad I did it... would recommend to anyone!

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Brooke, Denver, CO
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I am extremely disappointed with my zoom experience. I did experience a couple of zingers afterwards but it has been 48 hours and my teeth are pretty much the same color they were before. I paid $500 for this procedure and it was a waste of money. When I got done, my teeth were only 2.5 shades lighter on the top and 3.5 shades on the bottom. I am going to start using the trays to get them more white but I would never recommend this again. I would rather do brightsmile next time. I wish I would have done more research. =(

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Ouch!, Washington
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had Zoom 2 about 4 hours ago and came online to see if the horrible shooting pains ("zingers") I'm experiencing were normal. Unfortunately they are, and may be worse for people who have had braces (which I have). The procedure itself was fine up until the last 30 seconds of the 3rd 15 minute session, when I got the first zingers and the excruciating pain began. The sharp stabbing pain I've been getting from my bottom teeth running into my jaw is so bad that it makes my eyes water and my whole body convulse in pain. The zingers were very frequent at first (every 5 minutes or so), but have reduced to about every 15-20 minutes, so I hope they'll become even more infrequent soon. I've taken a ton of advil, but it doesn't even begin to dull the pain from the zingers. Had I known about the terrible pain, I would have foregone this procedure because my teeth weren't that bad to begin with. I don't know what personal factors make the shooting pain so terrible for some people while others don't seem to experience any zingers, but all I can say is that if anyone else is having these awful pains out there, you're definitely not alone!

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Dying Of Pain, illinois
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Holy mother of god. I am a dental hygienist and I knew that there would be some sensitivity to the Zoom procedure, however, I did not know that I would have these 'zingers'. I got the Zoom done at 9:00 this morning and it is 6:30 in the evening and I am still dying. During the first 15 minute session everything felt fine, during the next 15 minutes session I experienced this sudden jolt in my lower canine and upper lateral that I about jumped out of the chair. I pushed the light from out of my face and told them I was done. Soon as they removed all of the stuff from my mouth, I hurled over in agony. I asked if this was normal and they said I would experience some sensitivity. I asked how long this would last because this is the worst pain that I have ever experienced. 2-3 days. On the way home, I kept having these 'zingers' in those 2 teeth that almost made me drive off a bridge. I drove straight to the office I work for and did 2 fluoride treatments, put a desensitizing gel on, swished with a fluoride rinse, took ibuprofen, and a tramadol. Here I am 9 hours later and I am still miserable. My teeth are extremely white, but I do not even care what they look like because I am in so much pain. I have been laying on the bathroom floor crying for the past hour. I finally warmed up some milk and drank that and now I have this dull pain as if I have my teeth stuck in ice cream. It is still very unpleasant, but at least I haven't had a 'zinger' since the crying episode on the bathroom floor. I can't recommend this procedure to any of my patients because I wouldn't wish this on anyone. If I would have known the sensitivity was going to be this unbearable, I would have never done this. I am kicking myself in the butt because I brought this pain onto myself all for vanity. My teeth were pretty white to begin with, but I just had to have that extra oomph. Unless you want to ruin the rest of your evening and possibly the next few days, I would reconsider getting this done. It's hard to say how long this is going to last. The only relief I have got was from the APF relief gel and from drinking warm milk. Strange? Yes. But I would tie my hair around a clothesline and swing from it if I thought it would help.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Sanddoller, Gilbert, AZ
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I did not research zoom. Like many others have mentioned, I thought it was similiar to whitening stips. I was told my gums may be slightly burned, and my teeth may be sensitive. I do not think sensitive is the right word. The whole procedure itself was testing my pain tolerance and I have a very high pain tolerance. It took forever, and I felt like I needed to stop several times. However, after it taking 45 minutes to even get started after took polishing and gauze, creams etc. I tried to tough it out when I was already in severe pain with the 1st application. I went thu 2 , 15 minute sessions. I thought my gum was on fire in one spot especially. I immedietly had the sharp pains, everyone is calling zingers. They were unbearable, however, when I thought it wouldnt get any worse, it did. I had a constant pain concentrated on my lower teeth, not as bad as zingers but close and it wont go away. I called the emergency dentist line thinking something horrible had happened. I was overexposed? People should be informed of the pain before hand and not be told there might be some "Sensitivity" . I would rather break a bone again than deal with this pain.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Anonymous, atl,ga
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability


I didn't have sensitive teeth, or any similar. I am pain tolerant, very much!!!
But the feeling of a hot wire touching the naked nerve if your tooth passing 1000 vtz through it, now that's Painful!!!! What I just described it's what they called ZINGS!!!!!!! Let me mention that you get those shooting pains coming without notice.
I went for the 4/15min. sessions. The first bulls eye zing straight to my upper molar! It was at the end of the 1st. session,not forgetting the burning of my upper gums and let me tell you that, they(dentist crew) cover my mouth very well. I had more bandages than a mummy and still, it burnt like Hell!
10 min. of the 2nd. session and the terrible shooting intermittent zings hit my lower front teeth WOW!!
Next I was getting the zaps on my upper front teeth, but the lasting of that electrical shock feeling lasted longer by the min.
By the 3rd. seesion I decided not to continue with the light , but only with the bleaching cream and still felt sensitive. I tried the lamp once again on the 4th session but I couldn't handle it!!so I continued w/the cream alone. When they rinsed me out w/water OH GOD!It became a constant pain
I had the procedure done at 7:00am today and it's 5:45pm. I popped four 800 ibuprofen already and I'm still in pain, feeling like Frankenstein's sister, getting high voltage shocks on my teeth!!!
It worked so far in the whitening, even without the light; which trigger the zings. I can honestly tell you think twice before going through this procedure.
For the few people who didn't felt what most of us felt. I'm very happy for you. You are a few lucky ones!
I don't wish this pain not even to my worst enemy.
But for those people who didn't feel the pain, not because you are lucky think that we are some kind of crying babies.
I understand the concept of no pain no gain. But this is huge pain for maybe some gaine, just maybe!!!!
I wouln't go through this ever again!!

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Burned, Tucson, AZ
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had my teeth whitened last Friday. It burned the inside of my upper lip so bad that I am amazed it didn't burn through. My lip still has a blister, is sore and it is now the following Thursday. My teeth did hurt for the remainder of that day. I had to drink out of a straw and could not bite into anything, I had to cut everything up. Are my teeth whiter? A little. It was not worth the pain and torture. I didn't make it through the 3rd 15 minute session because the technician got some of the stuff on my lip. Is this stuff safe anyways? Think about it.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Holly, London
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Don't undergo this procedure unless you are willing to endure many hours of pain afterwards.

The actual procedure passed by for me relatively pain-free, but a couple of hours after I left the dental office the entire bottom row of my teeth were in agony.

It has been four hours since the pain began and it has not yet subsided. Unfortauntely, no (strong) pain killers have any effect - not even to take the edge off.

From what I have read, the pain should improve by tomorrow morning (although the dentists say "sensitivity" can last up to 48 hours).

Honestly - be prepared to take the rest of the day off, and please be prepared for the pain. It's bad - don't do it if you know you can't cope with it - and even if you think you can - be very careful making the decision. Obviously I'm not rolling around on the floor in tears otherwise I wouldn't be writing this review- but its severe. Definitely. Don't underestimate it.

Anyway - I think I made my point about the pain!! My teeth are definitely whiter, so it's not like I didn't walk away with results - whether those results are worth it remains to be seen.

Good luck to anyone going for it! Remember the pain won't last forever - and a lot of people writing these reviews are writing them in the midst of all the pain (like me)... They may have decided it was worth it once the pain subsided. But maybe not...

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Tracy, Los Angeles, CA
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had mine done with Zoom 2 1/2 years ago in 2006. My teeth used to be pretty yellow from tea and smoking. For the price I paid, 400 bucks, I expected amazing results. Right after I got up from the dentist chair, they handed me a mirror to have a look. The first thing I said was, "Why are my teeth still yellow?" Although there was an obvious difference from before, it just wasn't enough for the price I paid.

If I would've known the pain I had to endure, I would've never done it. The procedure took about an hour and my teeth and gums were in agony. It burned my gums and turned it white but the discoloration was temporary. Maybe an hour after the procedure, my teeth started hurting so bad that I was in tears. I took pain killers all that afternoon but it didn't work. I tried to sleep it off but I couldn't sleep with all that pain. The next day I had to leave work early because my teeth were still in excruciating pain.

Before using Zoom, I've never had sensitive teeth. After using it, now I have slightly sensitive teeth. Although I did see satisfactory results, I regret using it. The price and pain was too much too pay.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Karen, los angeles
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Amazing results. A little uncomfortable during the light sessions, but totally worth it in the end. After reading the above comments, I think you should research the dentist that is doing your treatment....mine was great. She gave me a prescription for vicodin because I was afraid I would have pain I never had to take it or even an aspirin ...2 days later, not one bit of pain after leaving the dentist's chair. I would highly recommend Zoom...just find a good place to have it done.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Maryam, Egypt
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

This really really really sucks. The pain is HORRIBLE, and definitely not worth it. Like many others, I came online to check if this was normal, and apparently most people experience these deadly zingers. I am SO regretting doing this and would definitely tell everyone thinking about it to STOP, go home, and enjoy painless teeth. I can't even brush my teeth.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Dan, Dallas
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I actually had to pay $650 for the torture. I had it done at 11am and made it through the three sessions okay but when I left the office, the pain really started. First it was on the top teeth. At about 6pm it moved to the bottom. I don't know how I am going to sleep tonight. I would not do it again.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Jenny, Nutley, NJ
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Didn't get what I paid for! I feel like an ASS for throwing away $500 to have my teeth "whitened" only to revert back to the same color within 3 days. The procedure burned my gums and shot electric-like jolts into the nerves of my teeth. It was a grueling one hour session (4 - 15 minute sessions). Immediately after the treatment, the technician handed me a mirror to see the results. At first they looked great, but as I looked closer I could see an uneven color distribution in my teeth. My canine teeth were just as yellow before the $500 transaction. I was disappointed to the extreme. Several hours later the "real pain" set into all of my front teeth. My burned gums were on fire and my teeth felt as though they were hooked up to a Folsom Prison electric chair. Actually, I would have had less pain if I just stuck my tongue into an electric socket. I ate nothing for 2 days for fear of staining my teeth. During that time, I drank plenty of spring water and completely followed my dentist's instructions. However, on the evening of the 2nd day I noticed my teeth had developed odd brown streaks and bright white spots. By the third day the "staining" turned even darker. I was alarmed and called my dentist. He didn't seem concerned and said he'd see me in a week. During that time, my teeth gradually became darker and actually looked worse than before the procedure. When I went to the dentist, he said it wasn't Zoom's technique, my teeth were the problem because they are "hypo-calcified," hence leading to discoloration and white spots. However, aren't teeth made up of ....calcium? Anyway, after 2 weeks my teeth are the same color as before this painful treatment. Don't patients have rights for a procedure that promises a certain result and delivers nothing? Think about this ..... we paid zoom $500 dollars an hour for a service that was not delivered or performed in accordance with their promise. If I performed like this for my clients, I would be slapped with legal charges and jailed for defrauding the public. Conclusion -- Zoom should be held accountable to their patients, and a class action law suit should be ensued.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Emel, annapolis, MD
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I felt the burning on the top of my top front teeth, but thought it was normal. It isn't. My gums there were white and red and swollen. I've had a couple of the zingers, but although shocking, were over so fast they were not too much of a problem. My biggest disappointment, the bottom teeth still have tea stains at the gum line, and the overall whitening of my teeth is minimal, and the side teeth, where the light doesn't reach, had no apparent change in color. I had been looking forward to having whiter teeth for so long, I must say I am very disappointed by the zoom procedure

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Anonymous, Canada
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had Zoom yesterday. It was the worst pain I have ever had! I was not informed that this procedure could cause pain. The pain actually brought me to my knees. No amount of whitening is worth the pain this has caused me. The inside of my mouth was also severely burned by the laser.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Tim, Portland, OR
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

My wife and I had the zoom whitening done on the same day about 3 weeks ago. She went first and complained of pain on the third session. I went in a few hours later with no problem except discomfort from keeping my mouth open so long.

However, within a few hours the zingers started. Words can't describe the pain, fortunately they only lasted a second or two. We both took the vicodin prescribed and the pain ended in about 2 days.

I wound up with a small blister on my gum that took over 1 week to heal. Put some ginger powder in warm water and swished it in my mouth. Started healing immediately after that.

My teeth started changing back to their normal color within a couple days. Wife's still look great. Would I recommend this service? No.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
K, Houston
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Wow the pain is absolutely terrible!
Don't get this unless you want to have voltage plugged into the bottom of your teeth, and a huge headache for about 2 days!

Zoom is not worth it, heck my teeth did not even get whiter!

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Irritated, Brandon, MS
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I paid $500 for my zoom whitening and it was a complete waste. I didn't have sensitive teeth prior to the whitening, and now I still have shooting pains occasionally in my teeth. Not to mention, the color changed back within a few days. I had my whitening done the first week of April and it's probably the worst pain I have ever received at a dentist office. I was only able to tolerate 2 of the 15 minute sessions and it burned my upper lip and had numbness. My dentist told me to return in one week to complete the other 2 sessions. I refuse to go back even after being a client of his for so many years.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Alex, Chicago
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had this done 2 days ago. I went through the 3 sessions (all right on top of each other, for those unclear, it is not 3 seperate sessions but three in a row), and managed to drive home. Like most, the actual procedure was not that bad, but immediatly afterwards i had sharp pain. According to the Doc, this is from either my saliva carrying in bleach to the gums or bleach simply slipping into there (they do try to prevent this, mind you). It was only around a couple teeth, but wow did that hurt like hell. And like the guy up there said... torture.

Luckily I had some Vikodin laying around and it got me to sleep. The next day there was zero pain, and i was very careful about what I ate (white-cheese mac and cheese got me through the day). And 2 days later.... My teeth do look considerably whiter... But definately not "8 shades worth" as they advertise, the doc measured the difference, it was 4 shades for me, and probably will drop a shade or two for most over that 48 hours of adaptation you go through.

Hope this helps your decisions!

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Laura, Hong Kong
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had Zoom tooth lightening 2 days ago and I got bad gums burns. My upper gums turned black and are swollen. I don't know how long it will take to come back to normal ??? Can anyone help me ? I called my dentist to let him know. He said it would go away in 2-3 days but honestly I'm full of doubts.
As for the colour of the teeth, it is whiter but there are still some white patches (dentist said it would go away too...).
I'm not very convinced by Zoom and would not recommend it to anyone.
I've just read a report that says that home trays give the same results. It is way less painful and you can't have these horrible gum burns.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Lauren, Cypress,TX
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

As with all the above comments, its all TRUE. VERY unsatisfied. NOT worth it. I was told by 3 different dentists (All cosmetic ones at that) that it wasnt worth it and the trays were better, but i "had" to Zoom ..and they were right. It was not worth it, and my teeth are about 1/2 to 1 shade lighter. THATS IT! ive had better results with Crest Whitening Strips.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Celia, Chicago, IL
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had my ZOOM! procedure today and, like many of you, was warned about the possibility of some "sensitivity." However, these "zingers" have been much more than I bargained for... Thankfully, it seems that my experience has not been nearly as bad as some people here report and I tolerated the in-office procedure pretty well. My dentist was very careful to protect my gums, lips and soft tissue well and I think it helped my tolerance tremendously. My teeth weren't very bad to begin with, but I have gotten significant whitening results and am generally pleased. The cost ($650.00) was a bit more than I would have liked, but if that extra $ resulted in a better, more pain-free experience than has been generally reported here, it was probably worth it. Yes, I'm pleased. Knowing what I know now, would I do it again?...I'd probably think twice.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Leon, atlanta
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Just had mine done at 3pm. It's now 9pm and the pain is extreme. I have taken 2 codeine tablets and they have not stopped the zinging/needle pain in my teeth.
I hope this was worth it because I have lost one full day and an evening over this.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Theresa, Washington DC
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had Zoom yesterday morning and according to the chart my teeth are 9 shades lighter but they do not appear that white to me. You will NOT NOT NOT have the results as seen in the commercials. Those models clearly have perfectly white veneers on all of their teeth and the brite white is clearly not after zoom.

Throughout the 3 sessions I was uncomfortable and felt a lot of burning between my teeth and gums and the 3rd 15 minute session I almost did not finish.

I would say 4 hours after the procedure my teeth felt achey but I never had any 'zingers' as they call them or sharp pains, I took a 400mg Advil before the procedure (9 am), and another at 1 pm, 6 pm, and 11pm which I believe helped. The next morning I felt fine however my gums were sensitive when brushing.

I cannot accurately judge the overall results at this time since I just had this done yesterday. I will be interested to see what the long term the results are...

I will say to shop around. It is very expensive in Washinton, DC and my regular dentist charges $800 however, my husbands dentist charges $450. I can't imagine that one dentist is better at pointing a light beam at your teeth than another so there is no need for a price hike as such skill is not required.

My package ($450) also included trays and followup whitening treatment. Was my results worth the price....probably not...would I do it again...probably not. Live and learn.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Lynn, CA
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

OMG!! I had no idea what I was about to endure during and after the procedure. During the procedure, the dentist numbed my upper teeth, THANK GOD, and then they seperated my lips from my teeth with some dentist tool. You have to stay like this for ATLEAST an hour. It is so uncomfortable. I here that people are supposed to do 3-4 sessions (you do these all in one visit). I only did two because there was no way in hell I was going to do more. So just 2 sessions took an hour. During the time the light sits on your teeth you experience this buring sensation in your gums and pressure. And you go through this torture for a long 15 min! (each session is 15 min) Even with my upper teeth numb I could still feel this!! It was so bad that I felt like ripping the guaze and stuff out of my mouth and walking out of there. I repeated this torture one more time and then stopped after the second one. THEN to make matters worse, once you are done you get these sharp shooting pains in one of your teeth. The pain is sporadic and so is the tooth that it decides to hit. You NEVER know when it will hit you either. Then last night when I was sleeping I woke up to throbbing pain in my lower teeth. I took 6 advils today and yesterday I took 4. My work day sucked because my teeth were pulsating! Now they hurt and are sensitive to hot and cold as well as anything hard. Also, be careful when you brush your teeth!! Especailly in the gum area. My teeth were pretty stained. They look maybe 1 1/2 shades lighter. I am going to do the trays next so I can get ready for my veneers. I have had 2 kids, braces, wisdon teeth pulled out, abcess, and a root canal, and now I can add this to that list of the most painful things I have ever endured. But I will never ever, ever, do the whitening again. Do the trays!! Stay away from the whitening!! Unless you love the feeling of pain. I got the whitening done yesterday and today the pain is moderate. I expect to be back to my normal self tomorrow. Atleast I hope!

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Margaret, Los Angejes CA
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Heres how it goes kids - I too never researched on-line about zoom and was very surprised to find myself in so much pain last night. What I did is I had a white wine and bbq chicken party. 7 people showed up. My Zoom appt was at 10 am and by 10pm I couldnt feel any pain in my teeth, I was back in the groove of things loving my life and my friends. So what I had a little pain, my teeth are movie-star white now and love it! I guess its all in the way you see things! Glass is half full people!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Student, Houston
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I just had the procedure done about 36 hours ago and I am very pleased with it. Of course, I had some sensitivities and several shooting zingers, but this is expected of any whitening procedure. As for the result, my teeth was about 6 shades lighters and looks great. One discomfort that cannot really be controlled are the zingers, but the gums and lips should not be painful if adequate steps were taken to cover them. The cost was a lot more than store bought whitening strips worked much faster, within an hour my teeth was awsome. I would recommend this procedure for anyone who is willing to go through some pain once to get great results. If not, the customs trays or whitening strips works too, but will just take much much longer.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
CArmen, Los Angeles
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had it done a week ago, I am no longer getting zingers and pains but I am very disapointed with the quality of this procedure. immediately after I had it done they handed me a mirror and I felt like a movie star (my teeth were WHITE) now they are only a shade lighter than when I first walked in a week ago. this was not worth it and worst of all I think I have a line going across my two front teeth. not worth it buy crest strips or something.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Mike H, Brooklyn,NY
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I read everybody's comment yesterday and was scared to go into my procedure today. I told my Dentist all of my concerns and he assured me he would take care of it. First off he covered my lips with a gel and the put gauze to bring down the lips as they were covered. Next he injected some wax like substance all around my gums, so they would be blocked from the light. He told me when he was done with the "pre-op" there "would be no pink showing".

I went through the 3 15minute procedure with only one "zinger", the only other discomfort I felt was the heat on the teeth. After the second session he applied a desenitizer to my teeth and it is now 5 hours after my procedure with NO problems. i guess if you have a good Dentist you trust and who does the right thing everything will work out fine.

I am actually drinking an ice cold drink as I write this with no problem. Just tell your dentist to make sure there is no "pink" showing and you will be fine.

Very, very happy with the results and I got a discount for $350 bucks. Hope your experience was as good as mine

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Charlene, Atlanta
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had zoom done about a year ago. Worst experience to go through. My teeth are permanently sensitive. However, they did brighten my smile but not enough to want to go through it

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Jennifer, Portland, OR
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I just had this done yesterday at 11am and went through the whole 3 sessions with no pain or discomfort. My first "zinger" happened about 2 hours later. I've only had about 3 of these and they lasted a split second so it was no big deal for me. My teeth started getting pretty sensitive at around 6pm that day. I wouldn't call it pain, just sensitivity. I used the flouride rinse and took 3 Ibuprofen and that dulled the feeling enough that I went to sleep fine. Today it's still a little sensitive but nothing bad. I think it was all worth it. I'm getting married in 2 weeks and wanted to have that extra white smile :) My dentist offered this procedure as a wedding gift so I wasn't out any money either. I've done the bleaching trays before with no sensitivity. Everyone is different. And I agree that you need to have an experienced dentist/nurse that you trust perform this procedure. It should not hurt your gums if they do it right.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Lynn, MS
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had this done on a couple of weeks ago. I got a 40% family discount - only paid $300. Was it worth it? I don't think so. I feel like I got 60% worth of whitening. I can't hardly tell any difference. Absolutely NO ONE has noticed. I only had minimal pain. Knowing that I was going to do this, I brushed my teeth with Sensodyne and used Act Flouride mouthwash everyday leading up to the treatment. I don't know if that actually helped or not, but the pain was minimal. I did have some occasional shooting pain but only in one tooth. The inside of my bottom lip was another story. It looked like it was covered with canker sores. I'm guessing that the light burned the inside of my lip. It took about 4-5 days to not be painful. I do have some splotchiness in my teeth, though. Overall I'm very dissatisfied with the results. I was hoping for white teeth and only got slightly less yellow.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Jane, Toronto
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I got mine done a few hours ago. I was in pain from the begining when they put the "clamp" in my mouth, but this is probably from my small jaw.
I am very tollerable of pain, Ive had everything from tattoo's, piercings, stretching my ears, stitches in my face, everything! but NOTHING compares to the pain I am feeling right now. my gums only got slightly burnt and look fine now but my teeth feel like constant hot/cold pain on really sensitive teeth. I WISH my dr. gave me vicodin, anything! they gave me pain killing gel which does nothing.
However, my teeth are allot whiter, I think like 6-8 shades. I smoked for 7 years but I never drank much caffine or wine so my teeth were only a little yellow. I am happy with the results but it was not worth the pain.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Delen, Portland, OR
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I am a female, 19, and had the Zoom teeth whitening procedure done at 1:30 yesterday afternoon (July 25, 2008).

I had relatively white teeth to begin with, not being a coffee-cola drinker or smoker, and this is primarily a procedure that my father is seeking. However, because of the horrible FEAR MONGERING on this reviewsite, he is TERRIFIED to have the procedure done. That being said, he paid a discounted $300 for me to be the guinea pig.

I entered the office and the dental assistant began preparation. Because I go to the amazing DentSpa, I received a hand and foot massage and got to watch a DVD of my choosing (Intolerable Cruelty - I was going for irony) on a pair of cool virtual reality glasses during the 3 15-minute sessions.

I had gauze, cotton and sealant applied and packed into my mouth before we began. The procedure was no more or less comfortable than your average trip to the dentist (trust me - I had two sealants earlier that morning and a cleaning the previous day). Into the second session I felt my lower lip becoming warm. The assistant seemed to intuit this upon return, and promised to move the light further from me during the third round.

The whole procedure was performed by the assistant and she did a spotless job. She had been the guinea pig for another dental office, and was able to explain the "zings" and sensitivity to me beforehand. She told me that some would experience them throughout, some towards the beginning or end and some not at all. Very thorough - the waiver I signed even listed all these side effects, plus other that seemed much more severe (gum recession, etc).

After reading this website, I was expecting a fireworks show in my mouth! Imagine my disappointment when all I received was one little twinge towards the end of the final session. I got a fluoride treatment for 5-10 minutes and she showed me the results: thrilling! I am absolutely satisfied. They are now the second lightest shade of white on the "whiteness" scale. A single decalcification appeared on the front of my bottom left tooth, but this has gone away, as promised, as the teeth rehydrate.

As I drove home, I did begin to experience more zings - some momentarily caused me to stop for breath or pause in the middle of a sentence, but nothing close to the ghastly descriptions of "white-hot pokers," "wires," "electricity" and "worst pain of my life." Haven't some of you ladies gone through CHILD BIRTH? Please. I can't take painkillers, and I don't think I would have, was I able.

In fact, I went right home and made myself a bowl of spaghetti (no sauce, of course) and just two hours after the procedure I was playing in a tennis tournament. I can't believe people are taking work off or losing sleep over this. It is now the next morning and I am 100% back to normal. The teeth have rehydrated and the calcified spot has disappeared, but my teeth remain the same beautiful shade of white. I am going to continue the "white diet" for another 24+ hours and continue with salt-baking soda rinses to keep them from staining during this porous period.

Not only would I absolutely go through this again, my sister is going to the same location in one week's time for the same procedure! I couldn't live with myself if I let her go through the kind of torture described on this site. Please, make an informed decision and thank goodness people are going through with it in SPITE of these horrible reviews and coming away with fantastic results!

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
AlishaMichelle7, Azusa, CA
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Quite possibly the worst pain I have ever felt. I have a really good dentist so I don’t believe it had anything to do with the care I received. Right before the third session, I started to get shooting pains. They were extremely intense and lasted for 7 to 8 seconds. I told my dentist to keep going. During the third session, I had a few more episodes of the same pain. I breathed through it and told the dentist I wanted to keep going. I made it almost all the way until the end but the pain became overwhelming and I had to stop. By the time she took the gel off my teeth I was in tears. I tried to stand up to rinse my mouth and almost passed out.

It’s been about 8 hours since then and the pain has calmed down considerably. I found some ways to calm the pain. I tried Tylenol and orajel but had no success. I finally came up with the idea of getting some ice and wrapping it in a paper towel and holding it to the outside of my mouth. It calmed the pain considerably.

I’m not sure what the final results will be. I hope my teeth stay white. It seems like a lot of people are saying that their teeth reverted back to their original color. I have learned my lesson… from now on, when I want my teeth whitened, I will buy the strips a the store!

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Ellen, Boston
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Don't do it. It is really, really not fun. Unless you are some sort of model, it just isn't worth it.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Josh, Philadelphia
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I have my wedding coming up in 1-1/2 weeks so i decided to get this done. I have sesitive gums but everything worked out great!! I was totally pleased with the service. They did the 3-15min sessions and it all went well. I do have a little sensitivity on two of my lower front teeth but other than that everything is good. I drink iced tea everyday all day and this brought my teeth 9 shades lighter!!!!!!!! I couldn't be more pleased at all (other than it was $500) but hey its all worth it when it comes to picture time at the wedding. I definitely will tell everyone that Zoom is great and i would reccomend this to everyone.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Mike, Miami
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Paid $650 to have zoom done about 2 weeks ago. I was happy with the results, teeth were 6-7 shades whiter. Now my teeth have gone back to the same shade... very disappointed. Have brushed my teeth 4-5 times a day since i had zoom done, flossing twice a day because i was happy with my results. 2-3 days after i had zoom done noticed teeth yellowing. Used the touch up tray 4 times but still yellowing. Horrible. Sun tan for your teeth. Pain was bearable, although sitting in the chair had me anxious.

Complete waste of money... teeth look great at first but go back to original shade. Like a sun tan for your teeth... How long does your tan last?

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Julia, utah
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I read others' reviews of Zoom prior to going, and they all mentioned blistering and burning, but no one said anything about zingers! I figured that burning was due to inadequate protection from the light. I wish I had read these reviews before going.

I raised my concerns regarding burning and blistering with my dentist and she said that it happens when the area is not prepped and protected well. So, I agreed to the procedure as they promised to protect the soft tissues very well.

The procedure itself was not too bad. I did get a very little "burn"on my gums, which turned white and disappeared later in the day. So, my observation is that burns and blisters are the fault of the dentist due to their failure to protect the tissues from the light.

However, let me tell you about the zingers! I was not warned about those and the first one came right after the 3rd session (last one) as the assistant was cleaning me up. Yes, it is exactly like an electric zap thru your nerve in the teeth. They are unexpected, very painful and just plain nasty. I have been having them intermittently since I left the office. They vary in intensity and duration. The "smaller" and faster ones are tolerable if you are taking the day off. The painful ones truly can send a driver off the road, and I don't think you can do anything but curl on a couch in a fetal position and wait for the next zap.

I read all the reviews here and it seems like there will be zingers, unless you are one of the lucky few--very few. There is no way to tell how bad the zingers are going to be for each individual and how long they are going to last, so I would not recommend undergoing this procedure. Unless you MUST have whiter teeth in 2 days, and have reserved 1 day for agony, do not do it. I wouldn't do Zoom again. Even if they paid me.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Michelle James, Saudi Arabia
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I signed up for zoom wanting to whiten my teeth as they are a bit crooked and I figured they would look better whiter & crooked. I had 2 of the 3 treatments. My gums were prepared very well as I had no problems afterward but did have 2 tiny blister-type marks on the edge of my lower lip. I found the pain basically unbearable at the end of the 2nd treatment and couldn't continue on for the 3rd . I am scheduled to return in a week. In the afternoon of the treatment I couldn't return to work - I was in extreme pain actually and considered taking a valium tablet which I had left over from a previous back injury. I took more than the prescribed daily limit of brufen and was capable of doing nothing the entire afternoon. Even weeks later, the nerves in my teeth have some momentary sensitivity. I don't think I can handle the 3rd treatment so, in a way, the procedure has been a bit of a waste of money for me.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Anonymous, Glenview, IL
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

First off, I have to say that the results were terrific. my teeth are amazingly white now!

But here comes the downside:
I got the zingers just like everybody else on this page. It wasn't bad because it was only on my bottom front teeth but I NEVER want to experience it again. I've been hurt doing many different types of things but this is the worst pain I've ever felt.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Montcoman, Palo Alto CA
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I was in the dentist chair for twohours. She gave me four treatments instead of three because my teeth were very yellow (second from the darkest on the sample teeth) and were responding very well to the treatment. That two hours were the worst part--even with my usually sensitive teeth there was zero discomfort afterwords. Th didn't experience horror stories here had me worried, but I just didn't have any bad experience. Its been 4 days and my teeth are even whiter than they were the day I left the office (6 -7 shades whiter!). No coffee, tea, red wine, or dark foods for a couple days--but hey--my teeth look great!

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
JB, Florida
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Had zoom done yesterday and my teeth are about 8 shades lighter, BUT, both lips are swollen and sore. I had 4, 15 minute sessions, my dental assistant was very thorough, protected my gums with a special coating, gauze to keep lips away from teeth, and SPF 30 on my lips. By the end of the 3rd round I told her my lips were dry and burning, so she re-applied the SPF.

They were sore when I left the office, but I thought it was because they'd been stretched by the protective device (also I've always used lots of lip balm for dry lips). But within two hours they were swollen and numb. I went back to the office and the doctor said it was an allergic reaction to the UV light, suggested taking Claritin or Benedryl or it would continue to swell (said Claritin was stronger and therefore a better choice.) He also told the assistant to recommend that future patients take an antihistamine before having the procedure done. He said in 5-6 years of doing these procedures I was only the second patient to have this reaction, and the first one had a severe reaction. No one mentioned this possibility BEFORE the procedure, though, so be warned.

I took the Claritin and the swelling hasn't gotten worse, but it's not gone down either. I used ice chips and ibuprofen for pain yesterday. Today the pain is better, now my lips are just sore inside, like a really bad cold sore. Going for Oragel now so I can eat today. At least it's the weekend and I don't have to go to the office looking like a botched Botox job. Yet.

My husband had it done with little side effect (he had the Zingers during the procedure and for about 2 days afterward) so I took a chance because my teeth aren't that sensitive (no zingers for me). Yes, my teeth are whiter, but for me it really isn't worth paying $450 for the pain and disfigurement. I'm concerned too about the longterm affects of this "allergic" reaction that seems more like a severe burn.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
 
 

Write your own review