sub_menu product2 submenu2 naviBg naviBg naviBg smily smily naviBg
View other whiteners by Philips Dental (10 items total)

Zoom Whitening System

About This Brand »Visit the Philips Dental Brand Page

Product ratings (650 reviews)

Rated: 3.3 out of 5
Agreeability:
Rated: 2.6 out of 5
     
Affordability:
Rated: 2.8 out of 5
     

63% of reviewers recommend

Write your own review
IN-OFFICE
Light Activated System
32% Hydrogen Peroxide
Average Price: $321
Zoom Whitening System image

The Zoom Teeth Whitening System by Discus Dental Inc (recently acquired by Philips) is one of the most popular teeth whitening systems available on the market today. In fact, it is the most widely used light activated system by dentists worldwide. The product comes in an all-inclusive pack. This means that the dentist is provided with all the necessary materials required for professional tooth bleaching in a single ready to use kit. The product includes the tooth whitener, the bleaching light and a number of disposable and single use items to be used on the patient while performing Zoom! Whitening treatments.

What type of tooth whitener is used with the Zoom Teeth Whitening System?

The Zoom! Teeth Whitening System uses a unique hydrogen peroxide based whitening gel. The produc has two different components, a 32% hydrogen peroxide gel and an activator. The two components have to be mixed together in the right proportion to form a working gel with a 25% concentration of hydrogen peroxide, with a pH level between 7.5 and 8.5.

Does the Zoom Teeth Whitening System require a bleaching light?

As a part of the procedure, the Zoom! Teeth Whitening System requires the use of a mercury metal halide light for bleaching. According to Discus Dental Inc, the wavelength of the light emitted from its units is in the range of 350-400 nm. The light is violet in color. The manufacturer claims that the mercury metal halide light with this wavelength activates the Zoom Whitening System, speeding up the bleaching process and enhances its performance.

The light unit in the Zoom! System comes with a built-in infrared filter. The filter helps in minimizing the amount of heat generated at the surface of the teeth from the light during the bleaching process by filtering the emissions. The Zoom! Teeth Whitening System is capable of whitening both the top and bottom teeth simultaneously with a strategically placed light.

Discus Dental developed a newer bleaching lamp in 2007, called the Zoom Advanced Power Lamp. It’s advertised to dentists as a more powerful tool - whitening teeth by as much as 2 shades more than the previous Zoom lamp product. Clinical studies conducted by The Dental Advisor in November of 07 seem to confirm this lamp’s claims - with results showing whitening improvement in the 1.9 range over the previous protocol.

Does the Zoom bleaching light produce a heating effect on the teeth being whitened?

The existing Zoom protocol and lamp have been used on the market for a long time. While the majority of patients report no heating effect during the bleaching treatment, some patients have experienced lip burns or tooth dehydration as illustrated in the user comments below. The new Advanced Power Light, however, has been shown to cause less sensitivity in sensitivity-prone or almost-sensitivity prone patients.

How much does the Zoom! bleaching light cost?

The exact price of the Zoom bleaching light is difficult to predict, but your dentist might have paid in excess of about $1,500 USD for the original lamp. The newer Advanced Power Lamp can run in the $1900 - $2000 range. These prices will help you estimate what you’ll have to pay for your treatment.

How long does it take your dentist to perform a Zoom Chairside Teeth Whitening System treatment?

The Zoom! Teeth Whitening treatments usually take about 90 minutes for the entire procedure. The treatment process is divided in three individual applications of the Zoom! Teeth Whitening System. Each application is of approximately 20 minutes. The patient’s teeth are exposed to the Zoom! Teeth Whitening System for a total of 60 minutes. The pre and post treatment procedures account for the remaining 30 minutes.

Does the Zoom! Teeth whitening system make use of at-home teeth whitening treatments?

Yes. The patients are provided with an additional whitener (a tray-based teeth whitening product) after the completion of the Zoom! Teeth Whitening treatment. The patients are also given instructions on using the product so that they can continue with the bleaching at home.

What are the individual steps of the Zoom Chairside teeth whitening system?

The Zoom! Teeth Whitening System has several steps. First, the doctor evaluates the patient’s pre-whitening tooth shade. The dentist then isolates the teeth that need to be whitened with the use of a dental dam. The patient is protected with a bib. The dentist then applies the hydrogen peroxide whitening gel on the surface of the teeth. After the application of the whitening gel, the activating light is used on the teeth for activating the whitening gel. The tooth whitener is then left for about 20 minutes. The procedure is repeated two more times, with each application lasting for 20 minutes. After the procedure is over, the teeth are washed thoroughly and the whitener is removed completely from the surface. The dentist then applies 1.1% neutral sodium fluoride gel on the teeth surface to reduce or prevent any sensitivity to hot and cold items. Finally, the patient is provided with an at-home tooth whitening system along with instructions for following up.

Should you choose the Zoom Chairside Teeth Whitening System?

The answer to this question depends entirely on your dentist. The dentist can guide you properly after examining your teeth and then suggest the most appropriate product. If you’re interested in teeth whitening with the new Advanced Power Lamp, you may have to ask which whitening lamp the dentist will be using - some dentists will still be utilizing the original Zoom lamp. In general, the Zoom! Teeth Whitening System is a very good product manufactured by a reputed company. The Zoom! Teeth Whitening System gives teeth whitening results that are comparable to other similar laser whitening products.

Note: Zoom has now released a third generation system called "Zoom 3". Since there seems to be many iterations of this system, and consumers do not know which is which, user reviews below may be for any one of the systems Philips has produced.

 
Marcello, Hollywood, CA
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Dorfman owns Discus dental (Zoom whitening) which he repeatedly mentions in his book. He claims that the Zoom laser provides a 26 percent improvement for in office bleaching. This is entirely untrue. Numerous studies have shown that any laser (be it zoom, sapphire etc) does not have a substantial increase in the efficacy of bleaching. It was previously thought that the light would heat up the peroxide and the heated peroxide would have increased bleaching power. However the light has the side effect of heating up your teeth and increasing the likelyhood of sensitivity. In office bleaching is harsh enough and light only increases the sensitivity. Unless someone is strapped for time, I would suggest custom trays over in office. If you choose in office, I would stay away from the laser.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Shel, Euless, TX
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Totally not satisfied! If you have sensitive teeth, this is not the way for you to go. It did whitening a bit but I found out how sensitive my teeth really were. With the laser light beaming and opening the pores on my teeth, at times it felt like singes of burning light piericing my teeth in places. Again, it did whiten but I couldn't even finish the 3 15 minute sessions completely. If you have sensitve teeth or think you do, this is nt the way to go. Stick with the strips or in office tray whitening!

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Anonymous, NJ
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

To me it was not worth the 500.00 I paid for it, and the pain I was in. I didn't feel any sensitivity until the last 2 sessions, and I don't have sensitive teeth at all. I was given Motrin by the dentist at the end because I was in so much pain. When I got home I took Advil and that did nothing for the pain. Then I took Alieve a while after and I was still in pain. I was in so much pain I thought I had to go to the hospital. I was literally holding my face. I then finally had to take a pain killer that my husband had from his dentist. Thank God they didn't expire because it was the only thing that stopped the pain. The next morning I had no pain at all but I did have a huge swollen lip. It went away after a few hours. My teeth did get whiter but not white enough to go through that again. I know people who use Crest White Strips, and their teeth are whiter than mine. Everyone is different but this was my experience.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Kimberly, Pasadena, CA
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had Zoom yesterday. It cost $600. It was a very uncomfortable procedure. It felt like I was sucking a vacuum hose for about an hour.

I had a few really painful zaps to my teeth during the procedure. It was a little difficult to breathe and hard to keep your mouth open like that for so long.

After it was done, my doctor said I went up 3 shades, well to me, my teeth look exactly the same - no difference at all. They say 8 shades average they forget to mention the people that get no effect or hardly any effect at all.

I was very unhappy - that was a lot of money for no result and my teeth hurt really bad for about 24 hours.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Stacy, Virginia
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

My daughter and I both had the Zoom whitening done and we were not at all happy with the results. You could hardly tell that we had had the procedure done. My daughter had excruciating pain afterwards from sensitivity. Nothing short of a strong pain pill helped! We paid $350 each, and I don't think it was worth it. A colleague of mine at work bought the in-home whitening system from her dentist, with the trays, gel, etc., and after two or three sessions at home her teeth look beautiful and very white! That's the way I'd go next time.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Jennifer, Virginia
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had the Zoom treatment done today. I did fine during the treatment, but within 10 minutes started having terrible shooting intermittent tooth pain. Within 2 hours the pain was severe, and within 5 hours the pain became unbearable and was widespread throughout all teeth. Nothing has helped and to top it off my teeth are splotchy!! I'm really sorry I spent the money on this treatment. My teeth are whiter, but the splotches are an eyesore and I hope they will subside. But the pain--- there is no way I would do this again or recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Stacie, las vegas
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

i just had zoom today. i was very thrilled upon leaving the dentists office. my teeth were super white, but after about 4 to 5 hours they started to look the same as they did when i went in. plus, my teeth are BURNING with pain. this isnt fun and it wasnt worth the money. i am just glad it was on sale for 300 bucks, otherwise i would really be mad i spent the money. i am still angry though, because basically i paid for a mouth that looks the same but is in excruciating pain. my teeth BURN. they are ultra sensitive. i have taken 2 advil....still waiting for those to quick in. i would not do this again...NO WAY>

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Ricky, Sacramento
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

ALL THE PAIN ABOVE IS SO VERY TRUE. I wished that I've researched before going through this process. Even if it's free, it is not worth the pain. The pain will travel from one tooth to another as if they are drilling into your tooth all day long and all night long. I would not recommend Zoom to any of my family member. SIDE-EFFECT: My upper lips have swollen to thumb side on top. My lips are in pain( it feels like my upper lip is majorly CHAPS). The pain is not worth it. Plus, it only change two shade. Please email me at [email protected] if you have any further question. I paid $300.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Michelle, Ladera Ranch
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I WORSE EXPERIENCE I'VE HAD IN MY LIFE!! I WILL NEVER GET ZOOM AGAIN. THE MOST EXCRUCIATING PAIN EVER!!! It was so painful, I crashed my car into a pole as I left the dentists office. PLEASE DON'T GET ZOOM!!!

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Nurse, Houston, Tx
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Made it through half of the second session before screaming for someone to help me get this stuff off of my teeth! No one told me about the zingers or the fact that they're worse if you've had braces. I suffered for 12-14 hours of excruciating pain and my teeth were maybe one shade lighter. I paid $500 for pain. Thanks...appreciate it.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
David Conville
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had a Zoom whitening procedure done 4 weeks ago. I have suffered from swollen lips, blister type white spots and facial swelling. I have seen my dentist, my primary physcian and an oral surgeon. I have uesd vitamin E, steriod creams, a course of prednisone. All have have not helped. I suspect my symptoms are a result of exposure to high intensity UV lamp used during the Zoom procedure.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Dawn, Tacoma, WA
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

DO NOT GET THIS DONE!!! Unless you enjoy EXCRUTIATING pain! It felt like I had ACID poured onto my gums. Actual pieces of my gums have started to come off and I have a huge inflamed piece of purple flesh above my front two teeth. I have been in pain for 18 hours and am considering going to the emergency room. PLEASE do not get this done!

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
S, maryland
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

don't ever get this zoom whitening.
If i knew this site earlier, I wouldn't do it period.
So painful, and none of those medication wouldn't work for this pain.
I told my doctor to stop the procedure during the 3rd session, because of so much pain and zinger.
So, Please listen to me.
Don't do it at all.
You will regret it.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Cami, connecticut
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I just hade Zoom done 5 days ago.Is a waisting of time,and money.I paid $600 to get this done,and no resulte,please don t do this is horribile.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Karen, Las Vegas, NV
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I just got the treatment today. I left my dentist an hour ago disappointed with the results. My teeth only whitened one shade, not significant at all. I didn't have much pain, during the 3rd round I started to get a little uncomfortable, but it wasn't bad. My teeth feel a little more sensitive at the moment, but no more so than using white strips, and my teeth are not much whiter than when I use white strips. Over all it was a waste of money.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Anonymous, colorado
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Just had Zoom done two days ago and I'm so disappointed in the results! I did have tremendous pain the rest of the day after the procedure, but it was over the next day. I could have put up with the pain had the results been better. I look in the mirror and can't even tell I had anything done. I'm sure different people get different results. In my case, it was a total waste of $299. I'm so disappointed since I was so looking forward to having really whiter teeth.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Sarah, Bellevue
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I wish I would have "listened" to the reviews I had read! I decided to get it done anyway, and spend the 600 dollars. The first round hurt, but because the protectent seal to protect your gums wasn't sealed, so they had to take it off and do it again. Of course, they were so busy, I had a assistant do the whole thing.
By the third round, I was shaking in the chair, it hurt sooo bad. I decided to tough it out, and only made it through 5 minutes of the last 15 minute round, I couldn't take the Zingers anymore. They washed me off, and handed me a mirror for my great unveil. Nothing! OKay, slight exh. but seriously, maybe half a shade lighter. The temporary that I had on my front tooth was matched to my original color, and since they couldn't bleach it, I was privie to a good comparison.
Well, here I am 6 hours later, and DYING in pain. I came online to get any sort of remedy besides just jumping over a bridge. I called the dentist, and they treated me like I was over reacting, telling me, it will all go away in time.
I was essentially just shoved out the door, I paid, and that was it. I know some people have had great results, no pain, but please trust these reviews, and think twice. THe difference is not worth the dollar amount, nor the pain!

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Hurting, NYC
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had Zoom done 6 days ago. After the procedure, my teeth looked many shades whiter.

My lower lip was burned and swollen. I could not talk about 6 hours post-procedure. I bought vitamin-E gelcaps and applied the cream to the burnt swollen area twice a day. The swelling went down after 2 days and became a layer of dead white skin (which turned yellow from the vitamin-E) It was quite unsightly. I stayed home for 5 days because it looked horrible. Now, on it's 6th day, I can say I my lips are almost back to normal (a little dead skin and redness left).

The gum on top of one of my front tooth was burned, and became red 3 days post-procedure. It is extremely painful to brush. Now, on day 6, it is still red and white and raw. I do not know when this will heal. My dentist have always informed me that I have healthy gums.

Post-procedure, I brushed my teeth 4-5 times a day. I drink some tea on day 3 and 2 glass of wine on day 4. I do not drink coffee. My teeth have returned to their yellowish color, and it hasn't even been a week.

I spent $400 - $400 for pain and embarassment, and teeth that haven't gotten any whiter.

Can anyone recommend something that works well for people with natural yellow and porous teeth? I brush 2-3 times a day, have done take-home tray treatment, Crest White Strips, and now Zoom, and use whitening toothpaste. Nothings longer than a few weeks for me. I have good oral hygene and dont drink coffee or much tea or wine, yet it looks like I haven't brushed my teeth in my whole life.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Hanna, Topeka, KS
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I went into my dentist office yesterday, even after reading horror stories from previous clients of the Zoom. I thought to myself that it couldn't be that bad but my experience has me infuriated and left in paid. First of all my dentist did the job himself though the nurses admitted they had never done it before since their regular Zoom nurse was out on maternity leave. I felt confident my dentist would at least do a good job. At first it seemed tingly but not at all painful. They put a bridge up around my teeth to keep the bleach gel from getting on my gums. during the second round of lasering I felt burning throughout my entire mouth. I assumed this was normal but the longer I sat there the worse the burning was and it just kept spreading, to my gums, to my tongue and to my lips. No one was around and I laid there crying and kicking my legs hoping to get someone's attention. Finally after the 15 minutes went by someone came in and asked if I was okay. I was definately not. She said she didn't want to remove all the gauze inside my mouth but the pain was so bad I pulled it all out myself and rinsed out my mouth. The dentist came in and put vitamin e oil on my lips, gums and every place else that had been bleached white by the gel. They then proceeded to tell me they had to redo the whole thing since I had another 15 minutes to go and at which point I declinded and told them I was leaving. My teeth only have lighter blotches on them but are definately not noticably whiter. The pain from this procedure is enough to drive someone insane. My experience was terrifying to say the least. I'm only 25 years old and am thinking about taking legal action against this office. I'm hoping to at least get a refund of my $500.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Jenny, Nutley, NJ
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Didn't get what I paid for! I feel like an ASS for throwing away $500 to have my teeth "whitened" only to revert back to the same color within 3 days. The procedure burned my gums and shot electric-like jolts into the nerves of my teeth. It was a grueling one hour session (4 - 15 minute sessions). Immediately after the treatment, the technician handed me a mirror to see the results. At first they looked great, but as I looked closer I could see an uneven color distribution in my teeth. My canine teeth were just as yellow before the $500 transaction. I was disappointed to the extreme. Several hours later the "real pain" set into all of my front teeth. My burned gums were on fire and my teeth felt as though they were hooked up to a Folsom Prison electric chair. Actually, I would have had less pain if I just stuck my tongue into an electric socket. I ate nothing for 2 days for fear of staining my teeth. During that time, I drank plenty of spring water and completely followed my dentist's instructions. However, on the evening of the 2nd day I noticed my teeth had developed odd brown streaks and bright white spots. By the third day the "staining" turned even darker. I was alarmed and called my dentist. He didn't seem concerned and said he'd see me in a week. During that time, my teeth gradually became darker and actually looked worse than before the procedure. When I went to the dentist, he said it wasn't Zoom's technique, my teeth were the problem because they are "hypo-calcified," hence leading to discoloration and white spots. However, aren't teeth made up of ....calcium? Anyway, after 2 weeks my teeth are the same color as before this painful treatment. Don't patients have rights for a procedure that promises a certain result and delivers nothing? Think about this ..... we paid zoom $500 dollars an hour for a service that was not delivered or performed in accordance with their promise. If I performed like this for my clients, I would be slapped with legal charges and jailed for defrauding the public. Conclusion -- Zoom should be held accountable to their patients, and a class action law suit should be ensued.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Irritated, Brandon, MS
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I paid $500 for my zoom whitening and it was a complete waste. I didn't have sensitive teeth prior to the whitening, and now I still have shooting pains occasionally in my teeth. Not to mention, the color changed back within a few days. I had my whitening done the first week of April and it's probably the worst pain I have ever received at a dentist office. I was only able to tolerate 2 of the 15 minute sessions and it burned my upper lip and had numbness. My dentist told me to return in one week to complete the other 2 sessions. I refuse to go back even after being a client of his for so many years.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Lauren, Cypress,TX
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

As with all the above comments, its all TRUE. VERY unsatisfied. NOT worth it. I was told by 3 different dentists (All cosmetic ones at that) that it wasnt worth it and the trays were better, but i "had" to Zoom ..and they were right. It was not worth it, and my teeth are about 1/2 to 1 shade lighter. THATS IT! ive had better results with Crest Whitening Strips.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
CArmen, Los Angeles
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had it done a week ago, I am no longer getting zingers and pains but I am very disapointed with the quality of this procedure. immediately after I had it done they handed me a mirror and I felt like a movie star (my teeth were WHITE) now they are only a shade lighter than when I first walked in a week ago. this was not worth it and worst of all I think I have a line going across my two front teeth. not worth it buy crest strips or something.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Lynn, MS
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had this done on a couple of weeks ago. I got a 40% family discount - only paid $300. Was it worth it? I don't think so. I feel like I got 60% worth of whitening. I can't hardly tell any difference. Absolutely NO ONE has noticed. I only had minimal pain. Knowing that I was going to do this, I brushed my teeth with Sensodyne and used Act Flouride mouthwash everyday leading up to the treatment. I don't know if that actually helped or not, but the pain was minimal. I did have some occasional shooting pain but only in one tooth. The inside of my bottom lip was another story. It looked like it was covered with canker sores. I'm guessing that the light burned the inside of my lip. It took about 4-5 days to not be painful. I do have some splotchiness in my teeth, though. Overall I'm very dissatisfied with the results. I was hoping for white teeth and only got slightly less yellow.

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Mike, Miami
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Paid $650 to have zoom done about 2 weeks ago. I was happy with the results, teeth were 6-7 shades whiter. Now my teeth have gone back to the same shade... very disappointed. Have brushed my teeth 4-5 times a day since i had zoom done, flossing twice a day because i was happy with my results. 2-3 days after i had zoom done noticed teeth yellowing. Used the touch up tray 4 times but still yellowing. Horrible. Sun tan for your teeth. Pain was bearable, although sitting in the chair had me anxious.

Complete waste of money... teeth look great at first but go back to original shade. Like a sun tan for your teeth... How long does your tan last?

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Sophie, birmingham, mi
Nov 11 '08
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had ZOOM done at Sparkles in Birmingham, Mi. It is run by Dr. Taylor. The entire 45 minute procedure was excruciatingly painful. No one on the staff, including Dr. Taylor, told me that the procedure could be painful. They only told me that I might have some sensitivity afterward. (By the way, I have never had sensitive teeth in my life.) I did not get the results I hoped for either. After a week, my teeth were only about 4 shades lighter. I would not recommend this to anyone.

Not Recommended by sophie

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Lynn, Toronto, Canada
Jan 14 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had Zoom on December 22, 2008. It is 24 days later and I am still having pain in my teeth. The procedure was ok, no burning or anything, but the first zinger happened about 2 hrs. after leaving the office. The pain is so intense that if it had lasted longer than the 3 or 4 seconds, it could easily drive you crazy. I agree with whoever said "Call it pain", not "sensitivity". I can`t believe I actually paid to have this done. Survived Christmas taking Tylenol 3`s. Went back to the dentist two days ago, and he said he had never heard of anyone having a zinger about 2 hrs. after the procedure. From what I read here it sounds very normal. My teeth are not really white like I had hoped they would be. For me, this was a very bad decision and I wish I could go back to Dec. 22. The zingers have stopped, BUT, the constant aching in my teeth is a real problem.

Not Recommended by Lynn

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Anonymous, Kentucky
Mar 25 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had my Zoom whitening a week ago. I was in the dental chair for 2 1/2 hours. Much of that time was the preparation. My lips were numb and swollen from having them turned inside out with the apparatus they use to get your teeth exposed. Not painful but uncomfortable. I felt zero pain during or afterwards. No sensitivity or zingers. However I fail to see any results. The dental assistants assured me I lightened two shades, but I cannot tell a difference. I was expecting more drastic results. I had better results with Opalescence bleaching gel that I had previously used about 7 years earlier. I wouldn't spend that kind of money again for such un-noticable results.

Not Recommended by Anonymous

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Mares, CO
Apr 06 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

PAIN!!!!! Dont do it!!!!!!! Not worth it!!!!!

Not Recommended by Mares

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Heather , Orland, Ca
Apr 28 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I think that the dentist office did a fantastic job in the preparation, and I had no sensitivity during the 3- 15minute sessions, which I had fully expected to, being that I have sensitivity with normal everyday eating and drinking. I used Crest Premium Whitestrips before, and got fantastic results, and thought that by doing the ZOOM! I would get the "celebrity" white teeth that I had always wanted. After the process was over, my teeth looked darker! the picture even shows it, and the dentist commented on that. I think I pretty much wasted $400, but I did get at home bleaching trays, so I will keep trying to get the result I wanted. If you already have fairly white teeth, don't ZOOM!, just get the strips, it's so much more effective!!!

Not Recommended by Heather

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Benitez, California
May 05 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I have horrible yellow teeth. I went in for a consultation and was told that I was a candidate for this product. After years of having ugly yellow teeth, I finally decided to test the newest product in 2009. Let me tell you how unhappy I was with the results. My teeth were a bit shiny but I think this was due to the cleaning I had shortly after the procedure. The next morning I was hoping to have a better view of my teeth in natural sun light, but it did not matter because my teeth were still YELLOW! So if I had to give my honest opinion, I would have to say that it's certainly another form of taking the consumer's money with no results. I am going to write to the maker of the product in hopes of getting my money back which was $200. The interesting thing is that once I was done with the procedure, the woman at the front desk informs me that the trays work so much better than the Zoom, which cost only $69. Boy, what a rip off. I felt like a jack. For those that are considering this, don't do it!

Not Recommended by Benitez

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
El, UK
May 27 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Had zoom whitening 3 weeks ago still suffering has anyone else had the same experience returned to practise and they more or less suggested that i am lying as it is not possible to still feel pain after 3 weeks. My partner paid £350 for this procedure i completely the first 15 mins and the pain in the second 15 mins was unbearable but i was alone and could not stop the procedure as the recptionist/manager NOT DENTIST as i was told applied the application, i intially thought she was preparing but she actually applied the gel after the second 15 mins i actually vomitted and told them i could not proceed, i went home and was in sheer agony for days i had ulcers and blisters in my mouth the recpitionist explained that i had a small mouth and found it difficult to fit the application in my mouth. Three weeks on and i am still in pain returned for refund and to make complaint but they in the Tracey Bell practise dismiss that i could still be in pain after this length of time, the zingers have subsided but my teeth ache and throb and it feels like the nerve endings shot up in my head and give me a constant headache. Please can anybody advise as to what to do? thanks

Not Recommended by el

    Was this review helpful?
1 Reply
Redtree, Cupertino
Jun 06 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had the zoom procedure done this morning.

It was sure a painful experience. I regret that I didn't research more about it before i have it done . It hurt so much, i only had 1.5 session done. I am still have zingers now, 15 hours after the procedure.

It's totally not worth it....my strong opinion.

Not Recommended by redtree

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Fifi, fraudland
Jun 16 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Anyone who says the pain isn't bad obviously did not have the same procedure... or obviously does not know what people are talking about by 'zingers' They are absolutely not bearable at all. I have a high pain threshhold.

My teeth were very healthy, no problems at all, NO sensitivity.. EVER... no cavities, I was in so much pain I was sweating all over, felt like I was about to die, certainly pass out. I screamed at her to make it stop and she took all the gel off my teeth whilst I spent 10 minutes trying to calm down and not cry. I paid a serious amount of money and was already in pain so I figured i'd try the rest and the same thing happened.
I am seriously seriously angry and upset. I was told I ''may experience MILD DISCOMFORT''. Furthermore, they checked the whiteness right after the procedure when the teeth are glowing but a day or 2 later the teeth fade back to normal. I tried to complain but was told "you said you were happy" and they sent me out some pathetic trays to 'top up' which makes no sense as I could have just done this myself in the first place without paying $£$£.

To top the ridiculousness off when I said I was coming back to speak to someone in person about a refund they told me to bring the free trays back with me!!! When I went in the person just kept pointing at a random white color on a chart and claiming my teeth were that colour. They also kept saying ''This has never happened before. You must have VERY sensitive teeth. Unusually sensitive teeth.'' No, I do not, did not. But funnily enough since that day my teeth have not been the same and I now have to use sensitive toothpaste all the time. I think this procedure ruined my teeth.

This is a SERIOUS rip off to the worst degree. I have never been so angry, and I have never been in so much pain. I was practically shoving strangers out of my way on the way home through the crowds as I was so angry, upset and in so much pain I just could not bear what I was experiencing.
I went straight to a pharmacy and took the maxium dose of painkillers, continued for the next 2 days and it still hurt like hell through that. God knows how sore it would've been without pain killers. The wind whistling through my teeth was killing me, I also bought some sort of scarf thing and wrapped it around my face on the way home (I was walking and on a train, I travelled 2 hours out of the way to the best salon in my area, it was done by a supposed qualified dentist) I did not care how stupid I looked, I needed to try and keep air out of my mouth.
I remember lying in bed trying to clamp my lips shut and still feeling like my tooth nerves were dipped in ice, and crying myself to sleep.

This may sound dramatic but if you don't believe me then god help you if you think it won't happen to you. I'd even go so far as to to say this should be banned. Nevermind the pain, it's nothing short of fraudulent. It does not work, and I was not told I could experience pain. According to this site alone, pain is certainly not unheard of with this procedure.

Not Recommended by fifi

    Was this review helpful?
1 Reply
C Carey, Santa Monica, CA
Jul 01 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

It has been aprox. a year since I had zoom and I believe this process has accelerated the deterioration of my enamel. I have resorted to using Sensodyne toothpaste which is quite a bit pricier than regular and have to watch my diet as to the amount of acidity I consume. My teeth also returned to their former color a few months after the whitening.

Don't risk it!

Not Recommended by C Carey

    Was this review helpful?
1 Reply
Mohamed, kingdom of saudi arabia
Jul 22 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Dear
Hello
I want to deal with you
I would like to buy your system Zoom 2
and Kits
Please answer you
mohamed hany
Sales Manger From Hasad Al-Mashari Trading
Kingdom Of Saudi Arabia POBox 50900 Riyadh 11533
Tel 0096601-2108519
Fax 0096601-2759902
[email protected]
hasad.Almashari @ yahoo.com

Not Recommended by mohamed

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Kim, Lexington, KY
Aug 25 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

DO NOT PUT YOURSELF THROUGH THIS TORTURE!!!!!

Not Recommended by Kim

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Kirsten, Miami
Sep 04 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I got my 17 year old son's teeth whitened for him for a birthday present. The dentist never warned us as to the risks. It was very painful for him and made his teeth like sandpaper. They are so pourus now that he can't even eat salad without causing a discoloration. Within a week his teeth turned school bus-yellow. The dentist rewhitened for free and now my son can't eat anything with color in it. Not even fruits or veggies. The dentist said they would "reseal" after two weeks, but also suggested using the whitening trays he supplied during that time. How can they "reseal" if he has to sleep with the whitening trays which are bleaching everything out? I am very upset about this. I trusted my dentist and he totally screwed us--all so he could make an additional $200. My son's teeth are ruined now. Do not do the Zoom procedure!

Not Recommended by Kirsten

    Was this review helpful?
2 Replies
Chinzie, Brooklyn, ny
Oct 13 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had Zoom done about 11 hours ago. I have no idea how well it works because I am in too much pain to open my mouth, much less look at my teeth. I have taken Tylenol every four hours and a relief gel my dentist provided. I am still in pain. Usually, my teeth are not sensitive as I too love to chew ice, eat hot food, etc, and never had a problem.

Hopefully the pain will go away soon. I have not eaten all day and am starving. It's just too painful to eat.

Not Recommended by Chinzie

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Phaul, alkhobar
Oct 29 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

this product is available here in eastern region in alkhobar?
where is the location and what the name of the store.....

Not Recommended by phaul

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Rs, Australia
Nov 01 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had Zoom whitening done 5 days ago and the results are terribly disappointing. I only experienced a small amount of pain in the 3rd session but nothing unbearable.

At the end of the treatment i was so upset as my teeth were still the same yellowish color but with some white blotches and lines on them. I didn't expect 'movie star' white teeth but they looked terrible and ridiculous. 5 days later and the white blotches are starting to fade back to my original color so my teeth don't look as ridiculous as they did immediately after the treatment but I feel like i have been robbed of my $650 for this scam/treatment which has made my teeth look worse than before.

In my opinion this treatment does not work and you will not end up with teeth anything like the images you online. Any whiteness that you see immediately after the treatment also disappears within a week so all the people on here who say they have just had it done and are happy with how white their teeth are will probably change their minds in a weeks time when the whiteness disappears.

Not Recommended by rs

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Renee, NY, New York
Nov 09 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

Terrible, horrible, indescribable pain that last for a few seconds each time, however each time you curl up in a ball and cry. DON'T DO IT!!

Not Recommended by Renee

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Ripped Off And Angry, rippedoff land
Nov 15 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I had zoom done 5 days ago. The zingers during the treatmentwere harsh, but tolerable. That night at home, they got worse, but then pretty much subsided the next day. However, the results were nowhere to be found! My teeth are no whiter (just a few white spots here and there), and overall, look worse than before. This system is an absolute rip-off. I've been wanting to have my teeth whitnened for so long, and I just can't belive that I wasted almost $400 and have nothing to show for it (other than sore gums)....

Not Recommended by ripped off and angry

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
DONT DO IT, WA
Nov 18 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I GOT TMJ NOW BECAUSE I WAS STRESSING SO MUCH ABOUT THIS STUPID WHITENING. I HAD IT DONE TWO MONTHS AGO AND I REMEMBER THAT WAS THE STUPIDEST MISTAKE I'VE EVER MADE IN MY LIFE. THE PAIN WAS JUST UNDESCRIBABLE AND I DIDN'T KNOW HOW TO TAKE CARE OF THE PAIN. SO I JUST KEPT ON BITING DOWN HARD ON THE TOWEL AND NOW I FUCKING HAVE TMJ THAT I HAVE TO LIVE WITH FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE. IT DOESN'T EVEN WHITENS TEETH AND I FUCKING LOST ALL OF MY ENAMEL ON MY TEETH. THE COLOR TURNED MORE YELLOW THAN THEY WERE BEFORE. THIS SUCKS SO MUCH WHY DIDN'T I READ THE REVIEWS BEFORE I GOT IT DONE? AND WHY THE HELL DOES IT STILL EXIST ON THIS PLANET? DON'T GO FOR IT PLEASE, AND TRUST ME. YOU WILL LOSE YOUR ENAMEL AND ONCE IT'S GONE, IT'S GONE. YOU CAN'T PUT ANYMORE OF WHITENING STRIPS OR ANYTHING. FROM PERSONAL EXPERIENCE, I USED LISTERINE STRIPS AND THE NEXT DAY PEOPLE NOTICED MY WHITE TEETH. WELL FUCK. I CAN'T DO THAT ANYMORE. FUCK THIS SHIT.

Not Recommended by DONT DO IT

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Jacqueline, Dallas,Texxxas
Dec 07 '09
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

I would NOT recommend Zoom! I thought I was the only one who had such a horrible experience, but after reading all the comments I see i'm definitely not the only one. My teeth were so sensitive I couldn't even open my mouth, the wind would even hurt. I drugged myself with tylenol that same night without any relief. I ended up driving to Walmart at midnight looking for some sort of desensitizor. It was horrible. ANNNNDDDDD to top it off, my teeth look the same, if not worse. Waste of my money :(

Not Recommended by Jacqueline

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Harvey, hennessey
Feb 27 '10
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

i haven't had zoom done yet..i am currently in the early stages of invisalign....but the majority of people on here have more problems than not..on that basis....i am not willing to take the risk and am going to use a mild strength whitening gel at the end of my straightening with my invisalign aligners...i would urge others to do the same....if they are on invisalign....

Not Recommended by harvey

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
DDawn, Frisco, TX
Mar 24 '10
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

DO NOT DO! Did not work at all!! Was very painful. To me all it did was cost me a lot of money and pain. Very disappointed.

Not Recommended by DDawn

    Was this review helpful?
1 Reply
Jason, ohio
May 09 '10
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

i had zoom done 5 days ago and my teeth are almost back to the original shade already.As far as the process goes it was terrible,alot of pain during the process and much more after it was done,had very sharp pains in my teeth and they were very sensetive. my gums were also very burnt.alot of pain for no gain...

Not Recommended by jason

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
BIG RIPOFF 4 SUCKERS, Voorhees NJ
May 14 '10
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

My wife just had this done at the family dentist here in Voorhees NJ, very disappointed with the result. Teeth don't look any whiter. Had 4 15 minute treatments with the newer "plus" ligh used also. What a scam!!!
Took home more supplies {dentist tacked on another $40 total= $440 ripoff from staffordshire dentist Voorhees NJ............. AVOID!!!

Not Recommended by BIG RIPOFF 4 SUCKERS

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
Dawn, New Hampshire
Jun 12 '10
How well it works
Agreeability
Affordability

This procedure seems to have damaged my 6 upper front teeth. They were very very rough immediately after, like sandpaper. My teeth no longer shine. They were a brighter shade but they seemed to be so porous they soaked up the first cup of coffee I drank and literally turned brown. Thankfully the at home trays take the brown out but they darken again after a few days. 2 months later my teeth are still not shiney, feel slightly rough and have a visible surface erosion on them. I wish I had not had this done, I really think my teeth have been permanently damaged

Not Recommended by Dawn

    Was this review helpful?
Add Reply
 
 

Write your own review